Departmental Course Equivalency Advisors

This is a comprehensive list of Department Chairs for each major/minor offered at GVSU. Majors and minors are organized by College. 

College of Education and Community Innovation

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Education

Sherie Klee

Email

willishe@gvsu.edu

465C DeVos

Spanish Endorsement

Maria Fidalgo, Michael Vrooman, or Brett Linford

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

fidalgom@gvsu.eduvroomanm@gvsu.edu, or linfordb@gvsu.edu 

B-2-230 Mackinac Hall/ B-2-263 Mackinac Hall/ B-2-222 Mackinac Hall

Hospitality and Tourism Management

Kristen Jack

Email or submit in-person

jackk@gvsu.edu

213C DeVos Center

Criminal Justice, Legal Studies, Public and Nonprofit Administration, Social Work 

CECI Advising Center

Email or submit in-person

ceciadvisor@gvsu.edu

460C DeVos Center

College of Health Professions

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Allied Health Sciences (General)

Alisha Davis

Email

davalish@gvsu.edu

420P Raleigh J. Finkelstein Hall 

Cardiovascular  & Diagnostic Medical Sonography 

Randy Wyble

Email or submit in-person

wybler@gvsu.edu

426 Cook - DeVos Center for Health Science

Health Information Management

Darlene Zwart

Email

zwartda@gvsu.edu

113 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Medical Laboratory Science

Darlene Zwart

Email

zwartda@gvsu.edu

113 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Pre-physical Therapy

Todd Sander

Email or submit in-person

sandetod@gvsu.edu

252 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences 

Pre-physician Associate Studies

Jill Ellis

Email

 

ellisji@gvsu.edu

 

224 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences 

Radiation Therapy

Randy Wyble

Email or submit in-person

wybler@gvsu.edu

426 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Recreational Therapy

Dawn De Vries

Email

devridaw@gvsu.edu 

106 Raleigh J. Finkelstein Hall 

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

African/African American Studies 

Jack Mangala

Email

mangalaj@gvsu.edu

101 Lake Ontario Hall

East Asian Studies

Kin Ma

Email

makin@gvsu.edu

B-4-204 Mackinac Hall

Digital Studies

Laurence José

Email

josel@gvsu.edu 

167 Lake Michigan Hall

Environmental Studies or Sustainable Food Systems Certificate

Amy McFarland

Email

mcfarla1@gvsu.edu

167 Lake Michigan Hall

Global Studies and Social Impact 

Jack Mangala

Email

mangalaj@gvsu.edu

101 Lake Ontario Hall 

Honors College

Roger Gilles

Email

gillesr@gvsu.edu

120 Niemeyer LLC

Human Rights

Karen Zivi

Email

zivik@gvsu.edu 

127 Niemeyer

IRIS (Integrative, Religious, and Intercultural Studies)

Deana Weibel

Email

weibeld@gvsu.edu

324 Lake Ontario Hall

Latin American and Latino/a Studies

Jack Mangala

Email

mangalaj@gvsu.edu

101 Lake Ontario Hall

Middle East Studies

Majd Al-Malah 

Email

almallam@gvsu.edu 

 

109 Lake Ontario Hall

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies or LGBTQ Studies

Julia Mason

Email or submit in-person

masonja@gvsu.edu

217 Lake Ontario Hall

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Anthropology

Michael Wroblewski

Email

wroblewm@gvsu.edu

LMH 230

Biology

Joseph Jacquot

Email

jacquotj@gvsu.edu

3305 P. Douglas Kindschi Hall of Science

Biomedical Sciences

Debra Burg

Email

burgd@gvsu.edu

221 Henry Hall

Cell & Molecular Biology

Mark Staves

Email or submit in-person

stavesm@gvsu.edu

211 Henry Hall

Chemistry

Dr. David Leonard

Email

leonardd@gvsu.edu

312 Padnos Hall of Science 

Classics

Charles Ham

Email or submit in-person

hamch@gvsu.edu

267 Lake Huron Hall 

English

Brian White

Email

whiteb@gvsu.edu

233 Lake Huron Hall 

English Education

Amy Masko

Call English Department (616) 331-3400 to make an appointment 

maskoa@gvsu.edu

230 Lake Huron Hall 

Linguistics

Colleen Brice

Call English Department (616) 331-3400 to make an appointment 

bricec@gvsu.edu

B-3-242 Mackinac Hall 

Geography & Sustainable Planning

Jeroen Wagendorp

Email

wagendoj@gvsu.edu

B-4-201 Mackinac Hall

Geology & Earth Science

Figen Mekik

Email or submit in-person

mekikf@gvsu.edu

Padnos Hall of Science # 118

History

Carolyn Shapiro-Shapin

Email

shapiroc@gvsu.edu

D-1-150 Mackinac Hall

Integrated Science Program

Jennifer Jameslyn

Email

jameslyj@gvsu.edu

133 LMH

International Relations

Polly Diven

Email

divenp@gvsu.edu 

1107 Au Sable Hall 

Mathematics

Michael Santana

Email

santanmi@gvsu.edu

A-2-102 Mackinac Hall

Movement Science (Athletic Training, Exercise Science, Physical Education or Sport Leadership)

Anne Caillaud

Email or submit in-person

caillaua@gvsu.edu

212 Lake Ontario Hall

Natural Resource Management

Alexandra Locher

Email or submit in-person

lochera@gvsu.edu

2200j Kindschi Hall of Science 

Occupational Science & Therapy

Kristin Willey

Email

willeykr@gvsu.edu

RFH 216C

Philosophy

John Uglietta

Email

ugliettj@gvsu.edu 

B-3-209 Mackinac Hall 

Political Science

Darren Walhof

Email

walhofd@gvsu.edu

1121 AuSable Hall

Psychology

Benjamin Swets

Email

swetsb@gvsu.edu

2217 Au Sable Hall

Sociology

George Lundskow

Email

lundskog@gvsu.edu

2172d Au Sable Hall 

Statistics

Paul Stephenson

Email or submit in-person

stephenp@gvsu.edu

A1170 Mackinac Hall

Writing

Christopher Toth

Email

tothc@gvsu.edu

326A Lake Ontario Hall 

School of Communications

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Communication Studies

Richard Besel

Email

beselri@gvsu.edu 

293 Lake Superior Hall

Health Communication

Haiying Kong

Submit in-person

kongh@gvsu.edu

124 Lake Superior Hall

Advertising and Public Relations

Tim Penning

Email

penningt@gvsu.edu

124 Lake Superior Hall

Multimedia Journalism

Len O'Kelly 

Submit in-person

okellyle@gvsu.edu 

283 Lake Superior Hall 

Modern Languages & Literature

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Arabic

Majd Al-Mallah

Via Email by the student to the department contact

almallam@gvsu.edu 

B-2-247 Mackinac Hall 

Chinese

Yan Liang

Via Email by the student to the department contact

liangya@gvsu.edu

D-2-144 Mackinac Hall 

French

Janel Pettes Guikema

Via Email by the student to the department contact

pettesj@gvsu.edu

B-2-243 Mackinac Hall

German

Donovan Anderson

Via Email by the student to the department contact

andersdo@gvsu.edu

B-2-251 Mackinac Hall 

Italian

Gisella Licari

Via Email by the student to the department contact

licarig@gvsu.edu 

D-2-126 Mackinac Hall

Japanese

Jeremy Robinson

Via Email by the student to the department contact

robinjer@gvsu.edu

B-2-243 Mackinac Hall

Spanish majors/minors

Jason Yancey

Via Email by the student to the department contact

yanceyj@gvsu.edu

D-2-134 Mackinac Hall

Lower level Spanish courses

Laura Fox

Via Email by the student to the department contact

foxl@gvsu.edu

D-2-128 Mackinac Hall

Russian

Janel Pettes Guikema

Via Email by the student to the department contact

pettesj@gvsu.edu

B-2-243 Mackinac Hall

Department of Music, Theatre & Dance

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Music

 Beth Gibbs

Email

gibbsb@gvsu.edu

1322 HCPA

Theatre

Beth Gibbs

Email

gibbsb@gvsu.edu

1322 HCPA

Dance

Beth Gibbs

Email

gibbsb@gvsu.edu

1322 HCPA 

Department of Visual and Media Arts

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Art Education

Kati Zaszlazik or Hsiao -Ping Chen

Email

zaszlavk@gvsu.edu or chenh@gvsu.edu

1113 Calder or 1121 Calder

Art History

Sigrid Danielson

Email

danielsi@gvsu.edu

1105 Calder Art Center 

Art & Design (Graphic Design, Illustration, Ceramics, Jewelry & Metals, Print Making, Sculpture, Studio Art, Visual Studies)

Hoon Lee 

Email

leeho@gvsu.edu 

1402 Calder Art Center

Photography

Stafford Smith

Email

smithsta@gvsu.edu

215 Lake Superior Hall

Film & Video

Paul Wittenbraker

Email

wittenbp@gvsu.edu

1105 Calder Art Center

Kirkhof College of Nursing

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Nursing

Janet Winter

Submit in-person

wintejan@gvsu.edu

Cook Devos Center for Health Sciences
301 Michigan St., NE
Room: 314 CHS

Padnos College of Engineering and Computing

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Engineering

Wael Mokhtar

Email or submit in-person

mokhtarw@gvsu.edu

136 Kennedy Hall of Engineering

Computing & Information Systems

Paul Leidig

Email 

leidig@gvsu.edu 

MAK C-2100

Occupational Safety & Health Management

Dave Huizen

Email

huizend@gvsu.edu

618 F Eberhard Center

Seidman College of Business

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Business: Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, International Business, and Marketing

Joy Gianakura

Email

gianakuj@gvsu.edu

1041 L. William Seidman Center

Department

Faculty Internship/CO-OP Contact

Career Center Contact

Accounting

Rita Grant

Lori Staggs

Advertising & Public Relations

Peggy Howard

Lisa Knapp

African & African American Studies

Louis Moore

Lisa Knapp

Allied Health Science

Alisha Davis

Stephanie DombrowskiMeghan Veltri

Anthropology 

Tara Hefferan

Grace Pushman

Art & Design

Virginia Jenkins

Lisa Knapp

Biostatistics 

Bob Downer

Stephanie Dombrowski

Biology/Natural Resource Management

Joe Jacquot

Stephanie DombrowskiMeghan Veltri

Biomedical Sciences

Debra Burg

Stephanie DombrowskiMeghan Veltri

Broadcasting

Len O'Kelly

Lisa Knapp

Business

Tami Kraker

Megan Riksen

Cell & Molecular Biology

Mark Staves

Stephanie DombrowskiMeghan Veltri

Chemistry

Dalila Kovacs

Stephanie DombrowskiMeghan Veltri

Communication 

Lorie Jager

Lisa Knapp

Computer Science

Joseph Hornik

Chris Babbitt

Criminal Justice

Brian Johnson

Carlos Martinez

East Asian and Chinese Studies

Jeremy Robinson

Lisa Knapp

Economics 

Tami Kraker

Megan Riksen

Engineering

Diane LaFreniere

Chris Babbitt

English

Ashley Shannon

Lisa Knapp

Environmental Studies

Crystal Scott-Tunstall

Lisa Knapp

Exercise Science

Heather Peddie

Stephanie Dombrowski/ Meghan Veltri

Film/Video

Suzanne Zack

Lisa Knapp

Finance

Tami Kraker

Lori Staggs

Geography and Sustainable Planning

Elena Lioubimtseva

Carlos Martinez

Geology

Virginia Peterson

Stephanie Dombrowski /Meghan Veltri

Global Studies and Social Impact

Andy Schlewitz

Lisa Knapp

Health Communication

Lorie Jager

Lisa Knapp

History

Matthew Daley

Carlos Martinez

Honors College

honors@gvsu.edu

 

Hospitality Tourism Management

Amanda Stansbie 

Megan Riksen

Human Resources

Tami Kraker

Megan Riksen/Lori Staggs

Human Rights

Richard Hiskes

Lisa Knapp

Information Systems

Joe Hornik

Chris Babbitt

Information Technology

Joe Hornik

Chris Babbitt

Integrative Studies (formerly Liberal Studies) 

Deana Weibel

Lisa Knapp

International Business

Tami Kraker

Megan Riksen

International Relations

Polly Diven

Carlos Martinez

Legal Studies

Diana Lamphiere

Carlos Martinez

Latin American and Latino/a Studies

David Stark

Lisa Knapp

Management 

Tami Kraker

Lori Staggs

Marketing

Tami Kraker

Megan Riksen

Mathematics

Feryal Alayont

Chris Babbitt

Medical and Bioinformatics 

Guenter Tusch 

Chris Babbitt

Medical Laboratory Science

Jeanne Stoddard

Stephanie Dombrowski/ Meghan Veltri

Middle Eastern Studies

Coeli Fitzpatrick

Lisa Knapp

Modern Languages & Literatures 

Zulema Moret 

Grace Pushman

Multimedia Journalism

Larry Beery

Lisa Knapp

Occupational Safety and Health Management  

 

Derek McCormick 

Chris Babbitt

Operations Management 

Tami Kraker

Lori Staggs

Parallel Planning

 

Meghan Veltri

Photography

Stafford Smith

Lisa Knapp

Physics

Joshua Veazey

Chris Babbitt

Political Science

Donald Zinman

Carlos Martinez

Psychology 

Robert Hendersen

Rachel Becklin

Public and Nonprofit Administration 

Quincy Williams

Carlos Martinez

Religious Studies

Sarah King

Lisa Knapp

Social Work

BSW: Kathleen Scheuerle

MSW: Deborah Ronk

Grace Pushman

Sociology 

Dennis Malaret

Grace Pushman

Statistics 

Paul Stephenson 

Chris Babbitt

Supply Chain

Tami Kraker

Lori Staggs

Theatre 

Al Sheffield 

 

Rachel Becklin

Therapeutic Recreation

Susan Sunden

Stephanie Dombrowski/ Meghan Veltri

Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Julia Mason

Grace Pushman

Writing

Dauvan Mulally 

Lisa Knapp

Exploring Students

 

Brian Bossick / Nick Debernardi / Dayna Phillips