Pew Teaching with Technology Award

The Pew Teaching with Technology Award was established to recognize faculty who use technology in innovative ways. Below are details about the criteria for the award as well as a description of the supporting materials required for all nominees.  

complete list of past award winners can be found at the bottom of this page.


This award is based on the following criteria, which are not ranked by order of importance, nor exclusive.

  • Teaching with technology in ways that are pedagogically sound
  • Novel adaptation of instructional technologies
  • Leadership for the institution in the implementation of an important instructional technology
  • Dissemination of instructional methods throughout the university
  • Demonstration of course design that maximizes students’ engagement in their learning
  • Use of past teaching experiences or professional practice to improve current practice


  • Nomination Cover Sheet
  • Three artifacts
    1. Description of Teaching Excellence
      Statement authored by the nominee, emphasizing pedagogy and reflection on teaching experiences over time (1-2 pages in length)

      For Library Faculty, Description of Professional Excellence - Statement authored by the nominee, emphasizing reflection on professional practice over time. This includes teaching and/or support for teaching (1-2 pages in length)
    2. Sample teaching material
      Carefully selected item that best represents teaching excellence. Examples include: syllabus, assignment, project guidelines, teaching tool, self-authored learning object
    3. Evidence of impact on student learning
      A single item demonstrating impact on student learning. Examples include: student evaluations from a course, peer observation report, or student project sample (shared with permission)
  • Three letters of support
    • Two letters of support from faculty colleagues
    • One letter of support from a student (current or past)

      Please note: no additional materials beyond these items will be accepted.

Pew Teaching With Technology Award

Julia VanderMolen (Public Health)

Julie White (Writing)

Rosemary Cleveland (Education)

Andrew Korich (Chemistry)

Erica Hamilton (Education)

Sister Lucia Treanor (Writing)

Meagan Knoll (Management)

Maureen Wolverton (Liberal Studies)

Robert Talbert (Mathematics)

Scott Truskowski (Occupational Therapy)

Amy Schelling (Special Education)

Jennifer Gross (Psychology)

Susan Swartzlander (Honors)

Nathan Barrows (Chemistry)

Parag Kosalge (Management)

Deborah Bambini (Nursing)

Deborah Herrington (Chemistry)

Janel Pettes Guikema & David Eick (Modern Languages)

Hugh Jack (Engineering)

William Dickinson (Math)

Sean Lancaster (Education)

Mary Karpen (Chemistry)

Maureen Ryan (Nursing)

David Austin (Math)