FTLC Advisory Committee

Faculty Handbook

Chapter 2 - Section 2.01.A.4

i. Faculty Membership: Faculty membership of the Pew FTLCAC consists of four members from CLAS, one from each of the remaining colleges, and one from the university libraries. The term of office is three years beginning at the end of the winter semester. Terms are staggered.

ii. Student Membership: One undergraduate and one graduate student selected by the Student Senate for a term of one year.

iii. Administration Membership: The Director and Faculty Fellows of the Pew FTLC ex officio, non-voting. A representative from Information Technology, ex officio, non-voting.

iv. Responsibilities: The role of the Advisory Committee is to provide advice on policy, direction and performance of the Pew FTLC, including:

a) Serve as a liaison between the Grand Valley faculty and the Pew FTLC Staff, disseminating information to faculty/units/colleges from the Pew FTLC and also providing feedback to the Pew FTLC about its programs, policies, and services.

b) Provide information about faculty development needs and advocate for professional development activities related to teaching and learning.

c) Initiate and/or respond to discussions of teaching and learning issues, referring them to appropriate bodies if necessary.

d) Every member of the FTLCAC (except for the committee chair) will serve on one of two sub-committees – either to review competitive grants teaching award nominations.

e) In the case of a vacancy, serve on a search committee for Pew FTLC Administrative Staff. 

Advisory Committee Members 2019 - 2020

Betsy Williams, Co-Chair, University Libraries

Vijay Gondhalekar, Co-Chair, FIN, SCB

Bret Linford, MLL, CLAS

Russell Rhoads, ANT, CLAS

David Zwart, HST, CLAS

Shelley Schuurman, SW, CCPS

Cathy Meyer-Looze, ED, COE

Chris Pung, EGR, PCEC

Alisha Davis, AHS, CHP

Deborah Bambini, NUR, KCON

Dan Brown, ENG, CLAS

Matthew Roberts, IDeL

Andrea Riley-Mukavetz, IRIS, COIS

Emily Hayes, Graduate Student Representative

Christine Rener, ex officio Pew FTLC

Patricia Stow Bolea, ex officio Pew FTLC

Kathryn Stieler, ex officio Pew FTLC