Mathematics Department recognizes its outstanding students

On Friday, April 4, the department welcomes its most impressive students and their families to its annual awards banquet. We are fortunate to have many outstanding students, and it is always difficult to select just a few to honor.

Thanks to generous contributions to the Mathematics Endowment Fund, we will be awarding Department Scholarships to the following students. The selection criteria included a personal essay, grade point average, letters of recommendation, and extra-curricular mathematical endeavors.


Travis Antcliff 
Katherine Green
Tarah Jensen
Clifford Taylor
Sandi Xhumari
Amanda Zoratti

In addition to winning department scholarships, Clifford Taylor and Sandi Xhumari are the recipients of the Outstanding Sophomore Award, which recognizes their achievements early in their respective academic careers, and encourages continued success in mathematics.

The following students are being honored as recipients of Department Senior Awards for their excellent work in the mathematics major, and their overall contributions to the department:

Tim Coffing 
Kelsey Finlayson
Emily Hoekstra
Gerard Kwiatkowski
Elizabeth Lund
Kathleen Reber
Jessica Teale
Lindsey VanderMolen
Emily Weber

Daniel Gorski has been selected as the 2008 Outstanding Senior from the department of mathematics. In addition to the recognition here, Daniel attended a banquet at which the winners of this award from every department on campus were honored.

Page last modified June 15, 2017