Faculty & Staff

Staff & Department Information


Department of Political Science

1121 Au Sable Hall
1 Campus Drive
Grand Valley State University
Allendale, MI 49401-9403

plsdept@gvsu.edu
(616) 331-2320
Fax: (616) 331-3550

Deb Rotman

Academic Department Coordinator

rotmand@gvsu.edu
(616) 331-2320

Deb Rotman

Faculty


Darren Walhof

Darren Walhof

Political Science Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Professor
1126 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2835
walhofd@gvsu.edu
Darren's profile
Fields: political thought, religion and politics, constitutional law

Office Hours

 


Polly Diven

Polly Diven

Director, International Relations Program
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Professor
1107 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3282
divenp@gvsu.edu
Polly's profile
Fields: international relations, U.S. foreign policy, American politics

Office Hours

 


John Constantelos

John Constantelos

Ph.D., Duke University
Professor
1125 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2869
constanj@gvsu.edu
John's profile
Fields: comparative politics, Western Europe, international political economy

Office Hours

 


Paul Cornish

Paul Cornish

Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
Associate Professor
1129 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3502
cornishp@gvsu.edu
Paul's profile
Fields: political theory, American politics

Office Hours

 


Gamal Gasim

Gamal Gasim

Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Associate Professor
111 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8106
gasimg@gvsu.edu
Gamal's profile
Fields: comparative politics, Middle Eastern Politics

Office Hours


Whitt Kilburn

Whitt Kilburn

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Associate Professor
1103 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8831
kilburnw@gvsu.edu
Whitt's website
Whitt's profile
Fields: American politics, public opinion, elections and voting behavior

Office Hours

 


Jacques Mangala

Jack Mangala

Ph.D., Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium
Professor
113 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8512
mangalaj@gvsu.edu
Jack's profile
Fields: international relations, international law

Office Hours


Michelle Miller-Adams

Michelle Miller-Adams

Ph.D., Political Science, Columbia University
Professor
1105 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2864
millmich@gvsu.edu
Twitter: @mmilleradams
Michelle's profile
Fields: international relations, US social policy, economic and community development

Office Hours

 


Mark Richards

Mark Richards

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Professor
1106 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3457
richardm@gvsu.edu
Mark's profile
Fields: constitutional law, freedom of expression, judicial politics

Office Hours

 


Andrew Schlewitz

Andrew Schlewitz

Ph.D., The New School
Assistant Professor
112 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8158
schlewia@gvsu.edu
Andrew's profile
Fields: Latin American politics, comparative politics, international relations

Office Hours


Laura Schneider

Laura Schneider

Ph.D., Purdue University
Associate Professor
1124 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8988
schneila@gvsu.edu
Laura's profile
Fields: public policy, environmental policy, women and politics

Office Hours


Heather Tafel

Heather Tafel

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Associate Professor
1128 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8511
tafelh@gvsu.edu
Heather's profile
Fields: democratization, federalism, Russia and Eastern Europe

Office Hours


Thomas Walker

Thomas Walker

Ph.D., Rutgers University
Associate Professor
1102 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8713
walkerth@gvsu.edu
Thomas' profile
Fields: international relations, history of international political thought, causes of war

Office Hours


Yi Zhao

Yi Zhao

Ph.D., Yale University
Associate Professor
1108 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8523
zhaoy@gvsu.edu
Yi's profile
Fields: comparative politics, Chinese politics, judicial politics

Office Hours


Donald Zinman

Donald Zinman

Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin
Professor
1127 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8714
zinmand@gvsu.edu
Donald's profile
Fields: American politics, presidency, parties, elections

Office Hours


Professor Zivi

Karen Zivi

Ph.D., Rutgers University
Professor
1130 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8157
zivik@gvsu.edu
Fields: Human rights, political theory and feminist politics

Office Hours
 

Affiliate Faculty


Rodger Moiles

Roger Moiles

Senior Affiliate
M.A., Michigan State University
1104 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3283
moilesr@gvsu.edu
Roger's profile
Fields: American politics, research methods, international relations

Office Hours

Contributing Faculty


Emily Zerndt

Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Adjunct Professor
1110 AuSable Hall
(616) 331-3061
zerndte@gvsu.edu
Fields: Comparative politics, international relations and political theory

Office Hours


Dan Balfour

Ph.D., Florida State University
Professor, School of Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration
254C DeVos Center
(616) 331-6594
balfourd@gvsu.edu
Dan's profile
Fields: public management, ethics, organization theory, strategic management, and history of the Holocaust

Office Hours


Pamela Galbraith

M.A., Michigan State University
Adjunct Professor
1121 AuSable Hall
(616) 331-2320
galbrapa@gvsu.edu
Field: human rights

Office Hours


Greg Cline

Ph.D., Michigan State University 
Assistant Professor of Public Health and Administration
226C DeVos Center
(616) 331-6437
clinegr@gvsu.edu
Greg's profile
Fields: public administration and health policy 


Matthew M.C. Roberts

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Adjunct Professor
KHS 4437
(616) 331-9085
robmatth@gvsu.edu
Matthew's profile
Fields: constitutional law, judicial politics, democratic theory, scholarship of teaching and learning, instructional technology


Nadeja Bontcheva-Loyaga

Ph.D., National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Tokyo
Adjunct Professor
1109 AuSable Hall
(616) 331-8987
bontchen@gvsu.edu 
Field: international relations


Sheri Rogers

M.A., Western Michigan University
Adjunct Professor
1121 AuSable Hall
(616) 331-2320
rogerssh@gvsu.edu
Fields: American politics, international relations

Office Hours


Retired Faculty


Richard Hiskes

Richard Hiskes

Ph.D., Indiana University
Professor
1130 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2991
hiskesr@gvsu.edu
Richard's profile
Fields: human rights, political theory


Erika King

Erika King

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Emerita Professor
1131 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2295
kinge@gvsu.edu
Erika's profile
Fields: American politics, media and politics, public opinion