Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy is part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and offers both a Major and a Minor in Philosophy.

The Department counts 21 full-time faculty members working in a variety of specialties, who are active scholars committed to undergraduate education. They share their expertise in a wide variety of philosophical schools, national traditions, historical periods, and specialized areas of philosophical work.

The curriculum is designed to provide students with a foundation in the history of philosophy and also to encourage students to pursue work in their own areas of interest. Formal coursework is only one part of the Philosophy student's education. Since inquiry and study are most fruitful when conducted in a vital community of fellow scholars, the Department is committed to offering a number of excellent learning opportunities that go beyond traditional classroom structures.

Spring/Summer 2022 Class Offerings

PHI 102 Ethics

PHI 102 01: MW 12:00-3:20pm; Charles Hogg; Allendale Campus; Spring session

PHI 103 Logic

PHI 103 01: TR 8:30am-11:50am; Mark Pestana:  Summer Session 06/27-08/10

Permit Approval
approved courses
Banner Submission

Page last modified July 25, 2022