Dewey J. Hoitenga Philosophy Essay Contest

Grand Valley State University Department of Philosophy

Philosophy Icon

Picture of Type Writer



The Dewey J. Hoitenga Philosophy Essay Contest is an annual event sponsored by the GVSU Department of Philosophy. The winning paper will receive both recognition and a prize.

Papers can be on any philosophical topic and from any student enrolled at GVSU. The contest is typically in the spring of each academic year. Watch our website for more information in winter semester or contact Professor Andrew Spear at  [email protected] for more information.


Winner of 2022 Dewey J. Hoitenga Philosophy Essay Contest

Yearly Essay Contest Winners

Year of Contest Name Current Status
2021 Winner Lucas Howe Lucas is currently employed as a Salesforce Administrator in Austin, TX, and continues to engage in creative projects in music, writing, etc.
2020 Winner Mallory Wietrzykowski Mallory is a MA student in philosophy at Kent State University
2019 Winner Lauren Chunn Lauren is currently employed as Medical Science Liaison for a biotech company
2018 Winner Adrian Rios Adrian is a Professional Writing Assistant at Lansing Community College
2015 Winner Abigail DeHart Graduated from Michigan Law School in 2019 and is now a lawyer for a law firm in Washington DC
2010 Winner Sam Girwarnauth Sam completed his masters in philosophy at Western Michigan and has been an attorney since 2017. He is currently on active duty as Army Judge Advocate, currently serving as a trial defense attorney at Fort Campbell, Kentucky
2007 Winner Patrick Lummen Patrick completed an MA degree focused on the philosophy of religion at the University of Chicago Divinity School. Patrick has taught Philosophy as an adjunct professor and is currently the Project Manager for the University of Chicago
2005 Winner Dan Blaser

Page last modified September 1, 2022