Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy is part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and offers both a Major and a Minor in Philosophy.

The Department counts 21 full-time faculty members working in a variety of specialties, who are active scholars committed to undergraduate education. They share their expertise in a wide variety of philosophical schools, national traditions, historical periods, and specialized areas of philosophical work.

The curriculum is designed to provide students with a foundation in the history of philosophy and also to encourage students to pursue work in their own areas of interest. Formal coursework is only one part of the Philosophy student's education. Since inquiry and study are most fruitful when conducted in a vital community of fellow scholars, the Department is committed to offering a number of excellent learning opportunities that go beyond traditional classroom structures.

Office Hours

Faculty Office Hours Summer 2024 (June 24-August 6)

Last Name First Name Office Hours Office E-Mail Action
Pestana Mark Tues./Thurs. 1:00 PM-5:00 PM, and by appointment MAK-B-3-212 View


Professor Judy Whipps is featured on the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy’s homepage in their “I am an American philosopher” interview series. Read the whole interview here (

Professor Judy Whipps

Professor Judy Whipps

Past Events

GVSU Philosophy at Major Fair

Majors Fair

BMS and Philosophy Major Jonathan McCabe and Prof. of Philosophy Andrew Spear want YOU to major in Philosophy!

What Are You Going To Do With That? Career-Pathways and Possibilities Student Event Hosted on March 14 from 6-7:30 PM in the Alumni House

Page last modified June 21, 2024