John Uglietta, Unit Head

Christine DeMichieli, Office Coordinator

Contact us:
Mackinac Hall B3-105
Allendale, Michigan 49401
Tel (616) 331-2114
Fax (616) 331-2601  

Follow us on Facebook

Welcome to the Philosophy Department

The Department of Philosophy is part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences  and offers both a Major and a Minor in Philosophy.

The Department counts 21 full-time faculty members working in a variety of specialties.

The Department's international faculty is made of active scholars who are committed to undergraduate education. They are at Grand Valley to share their expertise in a wide variety of philosophical schools, national traditions, historical periods, and specialized areas of philosophical work.

The curriculum is designed to provide a foundation of solid understanding of the history of philosophy, but also to encourage students to pursue work in their own areas of interest. Formal coursework is only one part of the Philosophy student's education. Since inquiry and study are most fruitful when conducted in a vital community of fellow scholars, the Department is committed to offering a number of excellent learning opportunities that go beyond traditional classroom structures.

Grand Valley State University Ethic's Bowl Competes and Qualifies for National Competition

Ethic's Bowl Student's to Compete at Nationals

GVSU Ethics Bowl to Attends Nationals in Baltimore

The GVSU Ethics Bowl team competed in the National Ethics Bowl this March in Baltimore after competing and taking 2nd place overall in the Upper-Midwest Regional Ethics Bowl in Chicago last November. Jessica Shaltry, Anna Stewart, Richard Vegh, Christian Miller and Mallory Wietrzykowski comprised the team who, in the first of four rounds, defeated Yale University and in the second round came in close behind Youngstown. It was the team's favorite round out of the four because the performances by both teams was so impressive. 

Recently retired GVSU Philosophy professor, Dr. Phyllis Vandenberg, volunteered to assist and accompany students as  stand in coach. 

Congratulations to an excellent showing at the Ethics Bowl National Tourney and a special thank you to Professor Vandenberg and Loeffler who supported the teams efforts. 

To learn more about the Ethics Bowl team, contact Ronald Loeffler via email:

Colloquium Event Calendar

Colloquium Events will begin again in the fall