Department of Philosophy


The Department of Philosophy is part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and offers both a Major and a Minor in Philosophy.

The Department counts 21 full-time faculty members working in a variety of specialties, who are active scholars committed to undergraduate education. They share their expertise in a wide variety of philosophical schools, national traditions, historical periods, and specialized areas of philosophical work.

The curriculum is designed to provide students with a foundation in the history of philosophy and also to encourage students to pursue work in their own areas of interest. Formal coursework is only one part of the Philosophy student's education. Since inquiry and study are most fruitful when conducted in a vital community of fellow scholars, the Department is committed to offering a number of excellent learning opportunities that go beyond traditional classroom structures.


Faculty Office Hours Fall 2022

Last Name First Name Office Hours E-Mail Office Location Extension
August John Mon/Wed 1:30pm-2:30pm, Thurs 1:00pm-2:00pm, or by appointment augustj@gvsu.edu B3 215 MAK X1-3163
Byrnes Jeffrey Mon 12:00pm-1:15pm, by appointment byrnesj@gvsu.edu B3 217 MAK X1-8079
Castelao-Lawless Teresa Tues/Thurs 1:30pm-2:30pm, or by appointment castelat@gvsu.edu B3 207 MAK X1-3419
Hogg Charles (Rob) Tues/Thurs 1:00pm-2:00pm, and by appointment hoggc@gvsu.edu B3 219 MAK X1-8080
Jampol-Petzinger Andrew Tues/Thurs 2:30pm-3:30pm, and by appointment jampolpa@gvsu.edu B3 204 MAK X1-3612
LaGuardia-LoBianco Alycia Thurs 10:30am-11:30am (virtual), Fri 12:00pm-1:00pm (office) laguarda@gvsu.edu B3 205 MAK X1-2496
Loeffler Ronald Tues 4:00pm-5:00pm loeffler@gvsu.edu B3 206 MAK X1-2929
Ni Peimin (Sabbatical) nip@gvsu.edu B3 210 MAK X1-3529
Parker Kelly Tues/Thurs 9:00am-9:45am (Devos), Wed 4:00pm-5:00pm (Allendale), or by appointment via Zoom parkerk@gvsu.edu B3 200 MAK X1-3257
Parkhurst William Mon 3:00pm-5:00pm, and by appointment parkhurw@gvsu.edu B3 212 MAK X1-2119
Pestana Mark Thurs 1:00pm-4:00pm pestanam@gvsu.edu B3 202 MAK X1-3075
Shang Geling Thurs 1:00pm-2:30pm shangg@gvsu.edu B3 208 MAK X1-3609
Spear Andrew Tues/Thurs 2:30pm-3:30pm, by appointment speara@gvsu.edu B3 213 MAK X1-2847
Spitzley Jay Mon 5:45pm-6:45pm spitzlej@gvsu.edu B3 225 MAK X1-2845
Uglietta John Tues 11:30am-1:30pm, or by appointment ugliettj@gvsu.edu B3 209 MAK X1-2846
Vessey David Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00am-11:00am & 1:00pm-2:00pm, or by appointment vesseyd@gvsu.edu B3 201 MAK X1-3158
Xie Wenhui Mon/Wed 11:00am-12:00pm, Thurs 10:00am-11:00am & 2:30pm-4:00pm xiew@gvsu.edu B3 203 MAK X1-3637

Department and Student Events

There are no upcoming Department and Student Events at this time

View More Department and Student Events



Page last modified September 6, 2022