Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy is part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and offers both a Major and a Minor in Philosophy.

The Department counts 21 full-time faculty members working in a variety of specialties, who are active scholars committed to undergraduate education. They share their expertise in a wide variety of philosophical schools, national traditions, historical periods, and specialized areas of philosophical work.

The curriculum is designed to provide students with a foundation in the history of philosophy and also to encourage students to pursue work in their own areas of interest. Formal coursework is only one part of the Philosophy student's education. Since inquiry and study are most fruitful when conducted in a vital community of fellow scholars, the Department is committed to offering a number of excellent learning opportunities that go beyond traditional classroom structures.


Upcoming Events

What Are You Going To Do With That? Career-Pathways and Possibilities Student Event Hosted on March 14 from 6-7:30 PM in the Alumni House

Office Hours

Faculty Office Hours Winter 2024

Last Name First Name Office Hours Office Email
August John Mon./Wednes. 1:00pm-3:00pm & by appointment B3 215 MAK augustj@gvsu.edu
Castelao-Lawless Teresa Tues./Thurs. 1:00pm-2:00pm & by appointment on Zoom B3 207 MAK castelat@gvsu.edu
Ehlers Elizabeth Thurs. 5:15pm-6:30pm & by appointment B3 227 MAK kovacse@gvsu.edu
Hogg Charles (Rob) By appointment: 1:00pm-2:00pm Tues./Thurs. or other times by arrangement B3 219 MAK hoggc@gvsu.edu
Jampol-Petzinger Andrew Tues. 10:00am-11:00am; Thurs. 2:30pm-3:30pm or by appointment B3 204 MAK jampolpa@gvsu.edu
LaGuardia-LoBianco Alycia Mon./Wed.2:00pm-3:00pm or by appointment B3 205 MAK laguarda@gvsu.edu
Loeffler Ronald Tues./Thurs. 11:30am-12:30pm or by appointment B3 206 MAK loeffler@gvsu.edu
Parker Kelly Mon./Wed.1:30pm-2:30pm; Tues. 1:00pm-2:00pm or by arrangement B3 200 MAK parkerk@gvsu.edu
Parkhurst William Wed. 6:00pm-7:00pm and by appointment. Zoom available. B3 212 MAK parkhurw@gvsu.edu
Pestana Mark Tues./Thurs. 1:00pm-5:00pm B3 202 MAK pestanam@gvsu.edu
Shang Geling Tues./Thurs.1:00pm-2:30pm B3 208 MAK shangg@gvsu.edu
Spear Andrew Thurs. 1:30pm-2:30pm or by appointment B3 213 MAK speara@gvsu.edu
Uglietta John Tues./Thurs. 11:20am-12:20pm or by appointment B3 209 MAK ugliettj@gvsu.edu
Vessey David Fri. 12:00pm-2:00pm or by appointment B3 201 vesseyd@gvsu.edu
Xie Wenhui Tues./Thurs. 2:30pm-3:50pm B3 203 MAK xiew@gvsu.edu

Teaching Apprentice (PHI 101 04) Office Hours Winter 2024

Last Name First Name Office Hours Office
Jenkins Ben Wed. 4:30pm-5:30pm B3 106 MAK

Past Events

GVSU Philosophy at Major Fair

Majors Fair

BMS and Philosophy Major Jonathan McCabe and Prof. of Philosophy Andrew Spear want YOU to major in Philosophy!




Page last modified February 21, 2024