Students honored for their outstanding accomplishments

Each spring the Mathematics Department hosts its Annual Awards Banquet to recognize exemplary students and their families. This year the banquet will be held on Friday, April 22.


One way students can be recognized for their excellence in mathematics is with a Mathematics Department Scholarship.  Through the generous contributions of alumni, and many past and present math faculty, the Mathematics Endowment Fund provides funds to support annual scholarships for select mathematics majors.

This year we are delighted to award Department Scholarships to eight exemplary students. The selection criteria include a personal essay, grade point average, letters of recommendation, and extra-curricular mathematical endeavors. The students who have received this honor are:

Kerry Cornelisse

Sean Hamilton

Brennan Kulfan

Susanna Lange

Allison Makowski

Caitlin McCullough

Alton Schneider

Carl Uzarski

Congratulations to all of these fine continuing mathematics majors.

VanderJagt Mathematics and Athletics Scholarship

Prof. Don VanderJagt served the mathematics department and Grand Valley State University for more than 40 years.  Among his many roles at the university was his long-standing position as the GVSU faculty representative to the NCAA.  Don loved athletics and was as passionate about Grand Valley’s excellence on the field as he was in the classroom. 

Before his retirement, Don and his wife Barb endowed a scholarship in their name to honor a student majoring in mathematics who demonstrates excellence in both mathematics and athletics.  A list of past recipients can be found on a plaque outside the math department office.

This year we are delighted to announce that the two winners are Kaitlyn Van Boven, who is a member of the GVSU rowing team, and Nathaniel Orndorf, who is a member of both the varsity cross-country and track & field teams.


Our Outstanding Sophomore Award recognizes the academic achievements of one or two students at the beginning of their academic careers.  The purpose of the award is to encourage continued success in the study of mathematics.  Students may only win this award by being nominated by one or more faculty; the 2014 Outstanding Sophomore is granted to Christine Lampen.

In addition, we will honor nine students receiving Department Senior Awards for their accumulated excellence in the mathematics major and their overall contributions to the department.  Students such as these make a positive difference in the life of the mathematics department as they have demonstrated exemplary work in their courses and often have demonstrated leadership and participation in extracurricular mathematical activities. The winners of department senior awards for 2014 are:

Veronica Burt

Nathan DeMaagd

Noah Felicioni

Patrick Herta

Kayla Kolbe

Holli McAlpine

Rebecca Simon

Anthony Snyder

Elizabeth Strach

Congratulations to all of these outstanding students.  We wish them the very best in all of their future endeavors.    

Page last modified April 8, 2014