Outstanding students celebrated

Every April the Mathematics Department hosts an awards banquet to recognize and honor exemplary students and their families. To celebrate this year’s students in the midst of the ongoing challenges of COVID, we gathered on Wednesday, April 21, by Zoom and honored not only our award winners noted here, but also each of our graduating seniors as they mark the successful completion of their studies, an impressive accomplishment especially amidst the disruption brought on by a pandemic.


The generous contributions of alumni and many past and present mathematics faculty has established the Mathematics Endowment Fund to provide funds to support annual Mathematics Department Scholarships for select mathematics majors.

The selection criteria include a personal essay, grade point average, letters of recommendation, and extra-curricular mathematical engagement. The following outstanding students are receiving this honor for the 2021-22 academic year:

Emily Waggoner

Morgan Hartline

Nicholas Layman

Shelbey Farr

Melanie Hanko

Congratulations to each of these excellent continuing mathematics students!


Other Awards

The Outstanding Sophomore Award recognizes the academic achievements of one or two students at the beginning of their academic careers. The purpose of the award is to encourage continued success in the study of mathematics. Students may only win this award by being nominated by one or more faculty; the 2021 Outstanding Sophomore is Noah Dehollander.

In addition, we present Department Senior Awards to honor graduating students for their accumulated excellence in the mathematics major and their overall contributions to the department. These students make a positive difference in the life of the mathematics department as they have demonstrated exemplary work in their courses and often have demonstrated leadership and participation in extracurricular mathematical activities. The winners of department senior awards for 2021 are:

Hannah Hill

Joseph Kendrick

Traci Kennedy

Courtney Lange

Brenna Skinner

Sara Soltis

Rodney Van Lagen

Cian-Kyler Young

Finally, the department’s Outstanding Graduate for 2021 is Anna Stover, and you can read more about her here.


Congratulations to all of these outstanding students. We wish them the very best in all of their future endeavors.




Page last modified April 26, 2021