Mathematics Department Honors Students

On Friday, April 13, the department will be honoring its most notable students at the annual awards banquet.  It is always an exciting event to celebrate with these exceptional students and their families.  Here is the list of this year’s recipients.

Department Scholarships

Thanks to generous contributions to the Mathematics Endowment Fund, we will be awarding financial support to the following students.  The selection criteria included a personal essay, grade point average, letters of recommendation, and extra-curricular mathematical endeavors.


Michelle Coffell 

Cody Copus

Brenna Dogran

Daniel Gorski

Emily Jacoby

Outstanding Sophomore Award

Rebeka Tabbey is the recipient of this award, which recognizes a student’s achievements early in her academic career and encourages continued success in mathematics. 

Department Senior Awards

The following students are being honored for their excellent work in the mathematics major and their overall contributions to the department.  We wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors as they graduate.

Matthew Flickinger

Eric Hedrick

Nathan Johnson

Rebecca Mousseau

Katherine Ondrusek

Matthew Stamps

Jessica Thompson

Amanda Wigent

Kathryn Wippel

Aarika Woodard

Miriam Schaefer Scholarship

We are thrilled that the Michigan Council of Teachers of Mathematics has chosen once again to honor a Grand Valley student with this scholarship.  Gerard Kwiatkowski, a mathematics major concentrating on secondary education, is one of five statewide recipients this year.

Pi Mu Epsilon Inductees

The Mathematics Department is pleased to be inducting 24 students into the GVSU chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the national mathematics honor society.

Page last modified June 16, 2017