Jamie Hosford Football Center

Thank you to the 700+ donors who helped make this building possible!

Leadership Donors:

  • James '79 & Nancy Ayers
  • Brandon C. Carr
  • Randy Damstra '82 & Julie Duisterhof
  • Eric Fowler '07 & Dr. Jamie Lynch
  • Dave & Deb Hoogendoorn
  • Matt Judon '15
  • Brian & Paqui '98 Kelly
  • Norman & Marilyn Leven
  • Ray & Virginia Lovett
  • Michael A. '06 & Clarice L. '09 McFadden
  • Dave & Linda Mehney
  • Stephen '82 & Deona '19 Paine
  • Kevin Rahrig '80 & Lori Houghton-Rahrig '81, '01
  • Kim Schmidt '88, '00 & Steven Workman
  • Victor '80 & Lynne Shepherd
  • Lawrence & Arlene* Treece

    * deceased 

Honorary Campaign Co-Chairs
Don Lubbers
Brian Kelly

Campaign Leadership Committee
Damon Arnold
Tom Beck
Keri Becker
Randy Damstra ’82
Jim Harkema
Dan Hosford ’02
Tom Hosford ’03, ’06
Chuck Martin
Matt Mitchell
Tim Selgo
Dick Williams ’79
Steve Workman

Campaign Committee
Jim Ayres ’79
Dan Bolhuis ’89, ’01
Josh Bourke '05
Dion Charity ’05, ’09
Jim Cox ’92
Robert Dean ’82
Jeff Dock ’06, ’11
Tim Duthler ’73
Mike Eichberger ’02, ’07
John Fitzgerald ’85
Ian Fonnesbeck ’00
Eric Fowler ’07
Todd Gesund ’92
Alex Gilde ’10
Bill Gilmour ’77
David Harris Sr. ’83, ’85
De’Ondre Hogan ’15, ’18
Curtis Holt ’85, ’88
Dave Hoogendoorn
Bradley Horling '15
Bill Hudson ’78
Bradley Iciek ’09
Steve Jazwiec ’77, ’86
Jeremy Koger ’00
Paul Leidig
Norm Leven
Christopher Lewis ’92
Ray Lovett
Bill Lucksted ’85
Bill McDonald ’78
Mike McFadden '06
Bob Mitchell ’07
James Mullendore
Noah Nagy '94
Steve Paine ’82
Heath Parling '14
Dave Radel ’02
Kiley Radel
Ben Rapin ’00
Michael Ratay ’15
Doug Reed ’78
Daniel Rikkers ’88
Kim Schmidt ’88, ’00
David Scott ’85
Blake Smolen ’11, ’16
Adam Sturdivant ’01
Todd Tracey ’91
Larry Treece
Alton Voss ’16
Bryan Wilson ’83
Justice Wright '16
Tom Yackish
Matt Yoches ’05, ’14

Jamie Hosford Football Center Video

Jamie Hosford Football Center Floor Plans

Jamie Hosford ’77, grew up in Grand Rapids, Michigan and was an all-star in sports starting at a young age. He went on to Grand Valley State College where he became the first athlete in Grand Valley history to receive 12 varsity letters and win All-American honors in two sports. He remains the most decorated athlete at Grand Valley, lettering in football, wrestling, golf, baseball, and track. While he proved to be a major success in sports, education was his passion. Jamie served for 25 years with Rockford Public Schools. In 2011, Jamie was inducted into the Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame, recognizing his accomplishments at Creston High School and Grand Valley State University.

The entire Hosford family remains part of the Laker family. Jamie’s sons, Dan and Tom, were Rockford football standouts and played for Grand Valley. Because of his love for athletics and education, a scholarship was created in Jamie’s honor to help student athletes from Rockford High School succeed at Grand Valley. Jamie Hosford passed away on March 4, 2014 after a two-year battle with cancer. In recognition of Jamie’s contributions to Grand Valley and the community, the Jamie Hosford Football Center is named in his honor.

  • The Jamie Hosford Football Center will allow Grand Valley to maintain its reputation as one of the nation's elite football programs, by creating a space that will attract tomorrow's recruits and develop today's student-athletes.
  • The 22,200-square-foot, two-story building houses an expanded locker room, five position-specific meeting spaces, an all-team meeting room, a larger athletic training and rehabilitation space, and operation space including equipment maintenance, storage, and laundering. 
  • Top-notch recruits who have a choice of Division I or II often base their decision, in part, on the facilities, which are a visible indicator of a quality program. 
  • The original football center was built in 1979, with an addition added in 1997. Over the years, the building became outdated. This renovation and addition will give our players and coaching staff much needed space for training and collaboration.

Grand Valley has been at the top of Division II athletics for 18 straight years, winning the Learfield Director's Cup for most successful athletics program, and has more top honors than all other NCAA Division II schools combined. This tradition of excellence is embodied in the football program which has appeared in six national title games and won four national championships in 2002, 2003, 2005, and 2006; giving Grand Valley the most successful football program in Division II history. 

Page last modified September 30, 2020