Honors Societies

Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, was founded in May 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan College in Mitchell, South Dakota, by Professor Judson Q. Owen. Its central purpose is to confer distinction upon outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Sigma Tau Delta also recognizes the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.

The name Sigma Tau Delta comes from the Greek letters representing the first letter of each of the words that form the official motto, ' Sincerity, Truth, Design': The official colors of the society are cardinal and black; the official flower is the red rose. The official seal can be found on all official documents of the society:

Through the work of chapters on the campuses of more than five hundred colleges and universities, Sigma Tau Delta provides exceptional students with opportunities for advancing the study of language and literature, for developing skills in creative and analytical writing, and for meeting other scholars and professionals in the discipline of English.

Members of Sigma Tau Delta also have the opportunity to publish their writing in the organization's literary publication, The Rectangle, and student members are eligible to compete for a number of writing awards. In addition, student members may receive international recognition through academic scholarships, professional internships, and teaching awards. At regional conferences and at the annual international convention, students may present original creative and analytical work and network with students, faculty, and professionals from around the country and abroad.

Faculty Advisors
Sigma Tau Delta faculty advisor is TBD for Fall 2023.

More Information

Page last modified May 8, 2023