About the School of Communications

The School of Communications includes over 1,100 students, 4 undergraduate major programs and a Master of Communication program. Formed in 1983, the School includes 20 full time faculty.

Communications is a multidisciplinary liberal arts and professional field. Students may choose one of four specialized majors: Advertising and Public Relations, Communication StudiesHealth Communicationand Multimedia Journalism. The Master of Communication degree is a versatile program that meets the needs of various aspects of professional communication.

In all major fields, students will be expected to acquire the theoretical insights and practical skills appropriate to related professions. In order to create a common experience for students in the School of Communications, a common core of coursework is required of all majors. By integrating diverse disciplines and traditions, these courses help students understand the nature of human communication.

School of Communications Core Coursework (9 credits):

  • COM 101 Concepts of Communication
  • COM 295 Theories of Communication

and one of the following:

  • COM 201 Speech
  • COM 215 Story Making (SWS)

Capstone requirement: COM 495 Issues In Communication. All students majoring in the School of Communications must take COM 495 (three credits) during their senior year. This capstone course offers a synthesis of ideas and theories about one or more current critical issues in communication.

Page last modified March 10, 2018