Dean's Advisory Board

Senior executives from successful West Michigan businesses provide a valuable source of counsel to the Seidman College of Business. Members of the Seidman Dean's Advisory Board work to integrate teaching, research, and business community support resulting in a dynamic flow of information and ideas between the school and West Michigan businesses. Working together, students, faculty, and local companies will be better prepared to conquer the business challenges of today and the future.

Board Members

Laurie Finney Beard is the retired President and founder of Founders Bank & Trust in Grand Rapids. She serves on the Grand Valley University Foundation board, received the GVSU Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013, and delivered the GVSU Commencement address in 2014, when she also was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Business.

Carole Bos is a Founding Partner of Bos & Glazier, P.L.C. She is a trial lawyer and nationally known author and lecturer. Seeing both sides of an issue for more than two decades, Bos prosecutes cases for plaintiffs but also defends litigation for corporations. She has written two inspirational books: Life is a Nonstop Event and Marriage is a Balance Beam.

John Bultema III serves as Senior Vice President - Institutional Markets at Western & Southern Financial Group. John is also a member of the Grand Rapids Downtown Development Authority. John received his undergraduate degree in Business from the Seidman College.

Peter DeWitt former Co-Owner and Senior Vice President of DeWitt Barrels Inc, a 116 year old family owned industrial container reconditioner. Peter earned a B.A. degree in mathematics from GVSU in 1968.  

Robert Grooters is President of Robert Grooters Development Company, the largest privately held developer of industrial and manufacturing buildings in the region. The company ranks in the top ten in the US and has developed numerous business parks in West Michigan and constructed nearly 25 million square feet of buildings, including Bridgewater Place – Tower I.

Jeff Gustinis is the Director of Financial Reporting and Planning at Meijer. In this role, Jeff leads the accounting, financial planning and analysis teams. Prior to joining Meijer, Jeff spent 12 years with Ernst & Young as a Senior Manager in the external audit practice. Jeff graduated from the Seidman College of Business with a BBA with an emphasis in Accounting in 1995 and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Doyle Hayes is the President & CEO of dHayes Group. He has received multiple awards, including the GVSU Foundation Leadership Award in 1995 and Distinguished Alumnus of GVSU in 1991. Hayes also served as Superintendent of Manufacturing and Quality for General Motors before coming to Pyper Products Corporation.

J.C. Huizenga is Chair of Huizenga Group. In 1995, Huizenga founded National Heritage Academies, an educational service provider, and has grown it from one school to a national leader, serving over 57,000 students in 87 schools across nine states.

Rabih Jamal serves as the Managing Partner of DWH, LLC, highly accomplished business specialists helping small and mid-size companies maximize business outcomes.  Rabih’s mentorship of Seidman students competing in the annual Association for Corporate Growth (ACG) Regional Competition, acquiring and turning around local IHOP restaurants with brother Walid, and board service contribute to Rabih’s success.  He earned a B.S. in Software Engineering from the University of Michigan, and an M.B.A. in Finance from the Seidman College of Business, Grand Valley State University.

Fred Keller is Chairman and CEO of Cascade Engineering, a leading provider of plastics solutions for the automotive, industrial, and solid waste industries. Keller founded the company in 1973, following an earlier career as metallurgist with Pratt & Whitney. He also serves as director of Meijer, Inc. and the W.K. Kellogg Foundation.

Louis Moran, II is Office Managing Partner of Deloitte where he has been a partner for 17 years. Lou has more than 30 years of experience providing service to companies in the manufacturing, consumer products, retail and real estate industries.  He is active in the Grand Rapids community, including serving as Board Chairperson of the Heart of West Michigan United Way, a member of the Executive Committee of Grand Action, a member of the Budget and Finance Committee for the Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Finance Committee of the Economic Club of Grand Rapids. Lou is a certified public accountant and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Michigan Association of CPAs.

Mark Olesnavage is the Managing Director of Hopen Life Science Ventures, a private investment and management firm focused on helping early-to-mid-stage life science developments achieve commercial success and growth.

Jay Preston is the Managing Partner of EY Grand Rapids.  He has significant experience managing large global audits and with acquisitions, divestitures and equity, and debt offerings. He served as the Campus Coordinating Partner for student recruitment at Indiana University and served on the Kelley School Dean’s Council.  He is a member of many organizations in Grand Rapids including the Finance Committee for the Right Place Inc., the Convention and Arena Authority, CEO Council for Talent 2025, and Board of Directors of the Economic Club of Grand Rapids.  He is a graduate of the Kelley School of Business at Indiana State University in accounting and marketing.

Randell Price is the owner operator of the largest franchise organization of McDonald’s restaurants in Michigan (19 locations), owner of Lakeshore Staffing, LLC, and Mandolin Bay Villas, LLC in Fort Myers, FL, and other businesses.  He is passionate about bringing STEM to a more prominent position within the community and to add Art (“STEAM”) to both high school and university curriculum.

Curt Pullen is Chairman of the Board for The Drucker Institute of Claremont Graduate University in California where Peter Drucker taught and lectured for 35 years.  For 24 years, he served Herman Miller, with his last position as President of North America.  He is an alumnus of the Seidman College of Business.

Gary Tilkin a veteran of the financial futures and commodities markets and a professional trader, envisioned a better solution for his clients who were trading exchange–traded currencies. At the time, the current alternatives lacked in market accessibility and customer support, so in 1997, Tilkin set out to create a solution at his own risk. The result was the creation of GFT, Division of Global Futures & Forex, Ltd., one of the first firms to offer online forex trading.

Kathy Vogelsang is Chief Investment Officer of Van Andel Institute, a position she has held since 2005.  She serves on many boards including an appointment by Governor Snyder to the Michigan Women’s Commission.  She is on Crain’s 100 Most Influential Women’s list and is Founder and co-Leader of West Michigan 100 Strong.  Kathy received her B.B.A. and M.B.A. from the Seidman College of Business.