We celebrate our 2020 outstanding students

Every April the Mathematics Department hosts an awards banquet to recognize and honor exemplary students and their families. We are saddened that in April 2020, due to the COVID pandemic, we were unable to gather to celebrate these students. Here we record and acknowledge their achievements as part of the 2021 alumni newsletter.


The generous contributions of alumni and many past and present mathematics faculty has established the Mathematics Endowment Fund to provide funds to support annual Mathematics Department Scholarships for select mathematics majors.

The selection criteria include a personal essay, grade point average, letters of recommendation, and extra-curricular mathematical engagement. The following outstanding students received this honor for the 2020-21 academic year:

Sam Bosma

Morgan Hartline

Joe Kendrick

Nicholas Layman

Brenna Skinner

Shayna Zack

Congratulations to each of these excellent continuing mathematics students!


Other Awards

The Outstanding Sophomore Award recognizes the academic achievements of one or two students at the beginning of their academic careers. The purpose of the award is to encourage continued success in the study of mathematics. Students may only win this award by being nominated by one or more faculty; the 2020 Outstanding Sophomore is Jacob England.

In addition, we present Department Senior Awards to honor graduating students for their accumulated excellence in the mathematics major and their overall contributions to the department. These students make a positive difference in the life of the mathematics department as they have demonstrated exemplary work in their courses and often have demonstrated leadership and participation in extracurricular mathematical activities. The winners of department senior awards for 2020 are:

Michael Baas

Miranda Bibb

Ethan Boelkins

Logun DeLeon

Jose Garcia

Alexander Jonauskas

Kylie Klunder

Anna Shier

Finally, the department’s Outstanding Graduate for 2020 is Maia Wichman, and you can read more about her here.


Congratulations to all of these outstanding students. We wish them the very best in all of their future endeavors.

Page last modified April 7, 2022