Bus Service - Holidays/Breaks/Closures

When classes are not in session the bus may be running on limited "Break Service". Break service includes two routes - route 85 for apartment loop, and route 50 between Allendale and Downtown Grand Rapids. Both pick up at Kirkhof Center on Allendale Campus, so be sure to check the sign outside for route info/name.

Listed below are dates that buses are NOT in service or are on Break Service Schedule (limited service). We frequently update this page with a list of dates surrounding upcoming breaks/holidays to let you know if the bus is running.

Please note that in the event of a snow day during the cold-weather season, the buses will be running on limited inclement weather service. Route 50 will service Grand Rapids campus to Allendale campus and Routes 85, 37 and 48 will serve Allendale off-campus apartment complexes.

Route Schedule & Frequency:

Monday - Friday:

  • Route 50 (Campus to Campus): 6:30a - 8:15p (50 min service)
  • Route 85 (Off-Campus Apartment Shuttle): 6:45a - 8:00p (25 min service)

Saturday - Sunday: "Break Service" often not available on weekends - please refer to listings by date (below)

NOTE: Transitions / Move-In Week in August the buses run on an extended break schedule

 

GVSU SEMESTER BREAK SERVICE HOURS:

  • Monday, 8/5/19 - Friday, 8/9/19 - Normal Spring/Summer 2019 Schedule
  • Saturday, 8/10/19 - Sunday, 8/11/19 - No GVSU Bus Service
  • Monday, 8/12/19 - Friday, 8/16/19 - Break Service
  • Saturday, 8/17/19 - No GVSU Bus Service
  • Sunday, 8/18/19 - Sunday, 8/25/19 - Transitions Break Schedule
  • Monday, 8/26/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule Begins (schedule to be posted August 2019)

GVSU LABOR DAY HOLIDAY BREAK SERVICE HOURS:

  • Friday, 8/30/19 - Sunday, 9/1/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule
  • Monday, 9/2/19 - LABOR DAY - No GVSU Bus Service
  • Tuesday, 9/3/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule

GVSU FALL BREAK HOLIDAY SERVICE HOURS:

  • Friday, 10/18/19 - Sunday, 10/20/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule
  • Monday, 10/21/19 - Tuesday, 10/22/19 - Break Service
  • Wednesday, 10/23/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule

GVSU THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY BREAK SERVICE HOURS:

  • Tuesday, 11/26/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule
  • Wednesday, 11/27/19 - Break Service
  • Thursday, 11/28/19 - No GVSU Bus Service
  • Friday, 11/29/19 - Break Service
  • Saturday, 11/30/19 - Sunday, 12/1/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule
  • Monday, 12/2/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule (+Exam Cram Late Night Bus Service Extension)

GVSU EXAM CRAM BUS SERVICE SCHEDULE:

GVSU SEMESTER BREAK SERVICE SCHEDULE:

  • Friday, 12/13/19 - Sunday, 12/15/19 - Normal Fall 2019 Schedule
  • Monday, 12/16/19 - Monday, 12/23/19 - Break Service
  • Tuesday, 12/24/19 - Wednesday, 1/1/20 - No GVSU Bus Service
  • Thursday, 1/2/20 - Sunday, 1/5/20 - Break Service
  • Monday, 1/6/20 - Normal Winter 2020 Service Begins (schedule to be posted December 2019)

 

 


Which schedule do I refer to?

Fall / Winter Semesters (in general, first day of class to end of exam week, with exceptions below)

  • Dates of "Holidays/Break Service" to include:
    • Fall Semester:
      • Labor Day (no GVSU service)
      • GVSU Fall Break (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Thanksgiving (no GVSU service)
      • December Semester Break (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Christmas Eve through New Years Day (no GVSU service entire period)
      • Days prior to start of Winter Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)
    • Winter Semester:
      • Martin Luther King Jr Recess (break/reduced GVSU service - 20 min svc from 8a-5p)
      • GVSU Spring Break (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Semester Break prior to start of Spring Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)

Spring / Summer Semesters (in general, first day of class to end of exam week, with exceptions below)

  • Dates of "Holidays/Break Service" to include:
    • Spring Semester:
      • Memorial Day (no GVSU service)
    • Summer Semester:
      • Independence Day (no GVSU service)
      • Semester Break prior to start of Fall Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Transitions/Move-In (extended break service)

Route Information:

Transfer Opportunities:

  • There are a number of opportunities available to access Central Station by connecting on another route (see suggestions below). All Rapid routes are still FREE with valid GVSU I.D.
  • Transfer to Silver Line (SL/#90) at downtown Grand Rapids locations: Michigan & Bostwick, DeVos Place, Monroe & Louis (westbound Rt 50 only)
  • Westbound on Fulton/Monroe transfer to #12 (West Fulton).
  • Just north of DeVos Center (at Seward Ramp), at Lake Michigan Dr. and Seward Ave. you can transfer to bus #9 (Alpine) or DASH West.
  • At Meijer (at Lake Michigan Dr. and Wilson Ave.) you can transfer to #7 (West Leonard) or #12 (West Fulton). Stop for the 7 and 12 is on the south end of the parking lot.

Featured Stops on this Route:

  • Pew Campus - Front St between Eberhard Center and DeVos Center, various downtown Grand Rapids stops, GVSU Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Covall shopping plaza - Big Apple Bagel, Rite Aid, BC Pizza, Snap Fitness, and Bank of America
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Collindale - Family Fare and Speedway
  • Bayberry Apartments
  • Walker Fire Station is a park & ride location. You can park your car in the fire station lot or the newly paved area north of the shopping plaza and hop on the bus behind the fire station!
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Wilson Meijer is another park & ride location. Shopping plaza features Meijer, Panera Bread, Jet's Pizza, Chowhound Pets, Fifth-Third Bank and more.
  • Allendale Campus bus stops at Mackinac Hall and the Kirkhof Center