Women's Commission Maxine Swanson Advocacy Award

Award Description & Nomination Criteria

This annual award is presented to an individual who has provided leadership in support of the rights of women at Grand Valley State University. The Maxine Swanson Award will be presented at the annual Women's Commission Celebrating Women Awards Ceremony.

Nominations are encouraged from all employment groups at Grand Valley. The nomination and selection process is confidential. Please do not notify the candidate of your decision to nominate them. Any member of the Grand Valley community may be nominated for this award, and will be judged in part on these qualifications:

  • Advocacy, beyond one's job responsibilities, for gender equality in alignment with the mission of the Women's Commission
  • Contribution to an environment that supports the rights of all women at Grand Valley State University
  • Commitment to working in partnership with the University on the development of policies that remove barriers which impede women's learning, professional growth, creativity, employment, and society
  • Promotion and creation of opportunities for interaction among all women on campus

This list is not intended to be inclusive, but rather to give some measure of excellence. The nominee need not excel in all areas. The contribution can be in the recent past or over a longer period of time.


Past Maxine Swanson Award Recipients

2019 - Mary Karpen

2018 - Melissa Peraino

2017 - Jennifer Palm

2016 - Stephanie Schaertel

2015 - Mary DeYoung

2014 - Connie Dang

2013 - Colette Seguin Beighley

2012 - Harriet Singleton

2011 - Jo-Ann Wassenaar

2010 - Erin Busscher

2009 - Nancy Giardina

2008 - Connie Ingham

2007 - Sue Sloop

2006 - Kathleen Underwood

2005 - Gayla Jewell

2004 - Wendy Wenner

2003 - Catherine Frerichs

2002 - Marlene Kowalski-Braun

2001 - Diana Pace

2000 - Georgianna Klein

1999 - Mary Seger

1998 - Virginia Gordon

Page last modified February 1, 2023