Reflections 2024

The Women's Commission, in partnership with The Gayle R. Davis Center for Women & Gender Equity, Provost's Office and the Office of the President, developed the GVSU Women's Mentoring Reception in 2012 as a way for the campus community to share stories, insight and advice breaking the myths of women in leadership.

This annual event spotlights the journeys and accomplishments of women leaders at Grand Valley by offering a platform for them to share their perspectives on leadership, management, work-life integration, professional strategy, self-care, and many other topics.

This year's event on March 27th spotlighted the journeys and accomplishments of Gretchen Goodman, Jakia Marie, Linda Ray, and Kate Stoetzner - women leaders at Grand Valley who shared their perspectives on leadership, management, work-life integration, professional strategy, self-care, and many other topics.

The panelists brought a special energy to the Reception that was refreshing yet familiar. The carefully curated discussion highlighted a good balance of similarities and differences across the four mentors in a way that anyone in the audience could find something relatable while grabbing onto a piece of advice. Reflections is the preeminent event for hearing voices from those who lead from where they are, helping us to realize the impact we can have when we all do the same. Check out pictures from this year's event here.

Be sure to check back on our annual schedule once it is refreshed for 2024-2025 to save the date for next year!  

Panelists seated on stage
Kate speaking
Gretchen, Linda, and Jakia
Jakia speaking with Kate in background
Gretchen speaking
Linda, Jakia, and Kate
Jakia speaking
Panelists standing
Heather speaking
Audience highlight
Picture of MC

Previous Featured Panelists

2022-2023: Takeelia Garrett, Samhita Rhodes, Lisa Surman, Kara Van Dam

2021-2022: Elisa Salazar, Deb Sanders, Sherril Soman

2019-2020: Maria Cimitile, Aaron Haight, Juanita Davis, Michelle Rhodes, LuAnne Brown

2018-2019: Tara Bivens, Wendy Burns-Ardolino, Tricia Thomas, Mei Mah

2017-2018: Shontaye Witcher, Betty Schaner, Annie Bélanger, Jody Vogelzang

2016-2017: Keri Becker, Dianne Green-Smith, Kelley Monterusso, Ellen Schendel

2015-2016: Sharalle Arnold, Jodi Chycinski, Carol Sanchez, Lee VanOrsdel, Pat Waring

2014-2015: Chick Blue, Beverly Grant, Anne Hiskes, Karen Ingle, Diana Lawson

2013-2014: Claudia Bajema, Michelle Burke, Maria Cimitile, Elaine Collins, Jean Nagelkerk

2012-2013: Jeanne Arnold, Connie Dang, Gayle Davis, Nancy Giardina, Julie Guevara, Teri Losey, Maggie McCrystal, Pat Smith, Kathleen Vanderveen

Page last modified April 7, 2024