Advising and Course Planning

Advising Centers

Do you need support with your academic planning and schedule, or want to explore different program options?
Meet with the Advising Centers.

Faculty Advising

Do you need to talk about your program and requirements, or to complete a faculty recommendation form?
Meet with Education faculty for Faculty Advising.

Student Advising Handbooks

The Student Advising Handbooks provide information on the Undergraduate Teacher Education requirements, and identify program options.


Advising Centers

Current GVSU Students

Login to Navigate

Navigate is GVSU's student success software that assists with advising appointments and provides access to services on campus. Navigate syncs with Outlook’s calendar, and it utilizes Grand Valley’s single sign-on process by logging in above.

NOTE that current Education students will have multiple advisors: 1) an Education program faculty advisor, 2) a Faculty advisor in the student's content areas, and 3) a professional advisor from an Academic Advising Center.

Using Navigate for Advising

Using Navigate for Advising

This video provides a quick overview for using Navigate to schedule your advising appointments.

Prospective Students

Prospective students may contact GVSU to schedule an appointment and review the steps to become a teacher. Appointments are offered on the downtown Grand Rapids/Pew Campus, or virtually via Zoom. Contact us at 616-331-6650 or [email protected].

Please contact GVSU Admissions for general GVSU information or assistance applying to GVSU.

Link to Advising Centers


Education Faculty Advisors

Connect with Your Advisor

  • Meet with your assigned Education program advisor on a regular basis
  • Understand GVSU's requirements and those of the major/minor
  • Be aware of application deadlines
  • Review the class schedule each semester

See below for a full list of the Education faculty advisors.

Student meeting with an advisor.

Education Faculty Advisor Directory

Title First Name Last Name Email Address Program
Dr. Linda Pickett pickettl@gvsu.edu
  • Birth to Kindergarten (B-K)
Dr. Kathryn Ohle ohlek@gvsu.edu
  • Birth to Kindergarten (B-K)
Dr. Lisa Perhamus perhamul@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Dr. David Bair baird@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Dr. Daisy Fredericks fredrida@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Ms. Megan Freudigmann freudigm@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Ms. Sheryl Vlietstra vlietssh@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Ms. Liz Storey storeyl@gvsu.edu
  • Elementary
Dr. Olivia Williams williaol@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Raul Ysasi ysasir@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Leanne Kang kangl@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Kevin Holohan holohank@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Chasity Bailey-Fakhoury baileych@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Terry Stockton stocktte@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Mr. C.J. Mehall mehallc@gvsu.edu
  • Secondary
Dr. Barbara Lubic lubicb@gvsu.edu
  • Special Education
Ms. Dori Helder helderd@gvsu.edu
  • Special Education


Page last modified August 11, 2022