Excellence in WGS Award

About the Award

Each year, Grand Valley recognizes top achievers among graduating seniors from each discipline. Specifically, one person is selected by faculty from every academic program that offers a major. Toward the end of winter semester, recipients of the Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award, among other honorees, are recognized at the annual Student Awards Convocation event, organized by the Office of the Provost. 

The WGS major was created in 2006 with the first graduating class completing their Bachelor of Arts or Science degrees in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies in 2009. The WGS Program is proud to recognize the multitude of academic achievements and leadership in service and activism demonstrated by our graduating seniors each year. The outstanding senior selected for the Excellence in WGS Award is chosen based on their overall GPA, along with engagement in scholarly work or service/activism.

Award Recipients

S. Warren

2023 Excellence in WGS award winner, Stephanie Warren

Stephanie Warren
Class of 2023

Shaylynne Kotch
Class of 2022

G. Angel
Class of 2021

Brynn Wilfong
Class of 2020

Ruth Ott
Class of 2019

Katherine Murton
Class of 2018

Skylar Wolfe
Class of 2017

Jordan Chrispell
Class of 2016

Mackenzie Kibbe
Class of 2015

Danielle Meirow
Class of 2014

Garrett Sawyer
Class of 2013

Taylor Wondergem
Class of 2012

Erika VanDyke
Class of 2011

Brittany Dernberger
Class of 2010

Sarah Bosman
Class of 2009

Page last modified January 5, 2024