Gordon Olson Award

Recognizing Outstanding Contributions to Local History

Nominations Open for 2021!

Do you know someone who has helped write, record, or share West Michigan history? Would you like to help recognize an individual making especially creative, valuable, or thought-provoking contributions to our understanding of local history?  Nominate them for the Kutsche Office of Local History’s 2021 Gordon Olson Award.

The Gordon Olson Award recognizes individuals whose work embodies the Kutsche Office’s mission of “using history to give voice to diverse communities.” We celebrate those who help facilitate our understanding of the past and those who are documenting history as it happens in the present. Nominations are open to anyone, from historians, librarians, and genealogists, to journalists, artists, and community organizers. Winners receive a monetary award, plaque, recognition at our Annual Local History Roundtable, and GVSU media coverage for their work.

The deadline for submitting 2021 nominations is 11:59 pm on Sunday, June 27, 2021.

Gordon Olson Award, recognizing contributions to local history

2020 Award Recipient Connie Navarro

The Kutsche Office of Local History recognizes Connie Navarro's commitment to using history to give voice to Latino communities in west Michigan. For decades, Navarro has been a powerful force for documenting, sharing, and celebrating local Latino life and culture. She and her family founded the Muskegon-based nonprofit Latinos Working for the Future in 1991. The organization promotes collaboration and education in support of the city's Latino population, most recently hosting the inaugural Muskegon County Latino Festival in 2019.

Navarro grew up in Texas and Oceana County, Michigan. Her migrant farming family relocated to Muskegon's Ryerson Heights Federal Housing Project around World War II, becoming part of an enclave of Latino families in the neighborhood. This community - affectionately called La Colonia - would inspire Navarro to conduct a series of oral histories in the 2000s to capture and memorialize this unique community. Much of her work culminated in her co-authorship of A New Home in Michigan: The Mexican-American Experience in Muskegon, published in 2010.

Navarro has worked closely with the Kutsche Office of Local History since its inception in 2009. A dear friend of office namesake Paul Kutsche, Navarro has served on the Advisory Council and provided essential guidance to projects related to Latino life and history in the region.

Established in 2014, the Gordon Olson Award will be given to one individual each year. Named in honor of Gordon Olson, former Grand Rapids City Historian and inaugural President of the Kutsche Office of Local History's Advisory Council, Olson's books, leadership, programming, mentorship, and advocacy have inspired generations of West Michigan residents. 

Jo Ellyn Clarey

2018 Gordon Olson Award Winner, JoEllyn Clarey. 

4th annual winners

4th Annual Award Winners: Wallace Ewing and Peg Finkelstein with Gordon Olson and Kimberly McKee (2017).

Gordon and Paul

Paul Kutsche and Gordon Olson in 2014 as Gordon receives the inaugural award.