A. Scott Rood

A. Scott Rood Headshot 2019

A. Scott Rood, Assistant Professor

Office Address: 214C Richard M. DeVos Center - Pew Campus
Phone: (616) 331-7527
Email: [email protected]

Teaching Areas:
HTM 235 - Tourism and Recreation Management
HTM 368 - Geotourism

Assistant Professor Scott Rood has entrepreneurial experience in many facets of the industry. He worked as General Manager, Operating Partner and Area Manager in the commercial recreation sector. He has owned and managed various Big Apple Bagels cafe locations. Scott has experience in the regulatory side of the industry serving on the State of Michigan's Carnival and Amusement Safety Board; and experience with destination marketing organizations, as Vice President of the Grand Haven Visitor's Bureau.  He is a former President of the Resort and Commercial Recreation Association and a former Council Member for the City of Norton Shores, MI.


B.S. in Political Science and American Studies, University of Michigan
M.P.A. in Public Administration, Central Michigan University

Scott started teaching at GVSU as an adjunct during 1994 – 1996. He began teaching full-time in 2005, after having been an adjunct instructor at three different institutions. He holds a Bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan, and an M.P.A. from Central Michigan University, and took additional M.Div. and Ph.D. graduate coursework.

Scholarship and Service: 

  • Scott is co-founder, Administrator, and an Editor of the “Journal of Tourism Insights”. He has authored/co-authored over a dozen peer-reviewed articles, is co-author of the textbook, “Introduction to Commercial Recreation and Tourism: An Entrepreneurial Approach, 7th edition”, and is presently Senior Editor of the 8th edition (in progress).
  • Scott served on the Board of Directors of the Resort and Commercial Recreation Association (RCRA): (positions included Member At Large, Secretary, President-Elect, President and Past-President).  He is the recipient of eight different awards from RCRA, including the Association’s “Fellowship” award.

Page last modified August 8, 2022