Student Scholarships and Awards

Department Scholarships and Awards

Glen A. and Betty J. Niemeyer History Scholarship

Grand Valley State University offers an annual Glenn A. and Betty J. Niemeyer History Scholarship for outstanding full-time History majors. The scholarship is named in honor of Dr. Glenn A. Niemeyer and his wife Betty. From 1963 to 2002, Dr. Niemeyer served Grand Valley State University as a professor of history, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Vice President of the colleges, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost.


The Quirinus Breen Prize 

The Breen Prize is awarded for student research essays on historical subjects. The prize is named in honor of Professor Quirinus Breen, the distinguished Historian of Renaissance Humanism who was a member of the History Department from 1965 to 1968.


Frances Ann Kelleher Endowed Scholarship

Professor Frances Kelleher's family and the university have established The Frances Anne Kelleher Endowed Memorial Scholarship to honor her memory and her years of service and teaching at Grand Valley State University.

To find out more click on GVSU MyScholarships