University Writing Skills Committee

Director of Supplemental Writing Skills (ex officio)
Lindsay Ellis, Chair

Writing Center Director
Patrick Johnson

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Brian Deyo (ENG) (2018)

Amorak Huey (WRT) (2018)

Agnieszka Szarecka (CMB) (2020)

Michael Wroblewski (ANT) (2019)

Seidman College of Business 
Chris Harper (2020)

College of Community and Public Service 
Allison Adams (2019)

College of Education 
Cindi Smith (2020)

Padnos College of Engineering and Computing
Lindsay Corneal (2018)

College of Health Professions 
Courtney Karasinski (2018)

Kirkhof College of Nursing 
Genevieve Elrod (2020)

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies
Joel Wendland (LIB) (2019)

University Libraries 
Hazel McClure (2017)

Student Senate Representative

Committee Mission

The University Writing Skills Committee exists to develop and assess goals for Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) program through the Supplemental Writing Skills (SWS) program at GVSU. To this end, the committee enables collaboration among the institutions across campus that support writing, specifically the First Year Writing Program, the Fred Meijer Center for Writing and Michigan Authors, the University Libraries, and Information Technology. The work of the committee will include writing/updating the Mission, Vision, and Values statement for the SWS program; developing policies as necessary for new SWS issues (e.g., on-line SWS course guidelines); writing SWS strategic plans and advising the WAC director on the implementation of those plans; writing SWS assessment plans and advising the WAC director on the implementation of those plans; assessing the SWS program; and reviewing and revising the self-study report. The committee will also review and evaluate for approval SWS courses proposed by units; advise the director of WAC on unusual student issues/requests; advise the director of WAC on new faculty development activities; and sponsor workshops in teaching writing for faculty members.

Page last modified October 27, 2017