New Programs/New Academic Unit Council

The Council meets just 2-3 times per semester. The purpose of the Council and its membership are described in the Faculty Handbook, 2.04 I 1-4:

“The decision to proceed to the development of a detailed New Program Proposal for the proposed program will be based upon a review of the Prospectus by the New Program/New Academic Unit Council, consisting of:  UCC Chair, FSBC Chair, GC Chair, appropriate Dean(s), the Provost or Provost’s representative, and the ECS Chair, who will be Chair of the Council.  As part of its deliberations, the New Program/New Academic Unit Council will seek input from existing units that may be affected by the creation of the proposed new program.  Council members make recommendations to the Provost. Their  recommendation will be to “support the Prospectus as submitted,” to “support the Prospectus with requested modifications,” or to “not support the Prospectus.”

The Provost shall review the Prospectus and the recommendation of the New Program/New Academic Unit Council.  The Provost may request additional information, approve the Council’s recommendation and initiate development of the New Program Proposal, or terminate the proposal.  The decision of the Provost resulting from the Prospectus review shall be communicated to the writer(s) of the Prospectus, and to the New Program/New Academic Unit Council, a detailed rationale will be sent to the Council. If the recommendation of support by the New Program/New Academic Unit Council is accepted by the Provost, he or she will appoint a taskforce for the creation and submission of the New Program Proposal.  The taskforce includes the unit head that will house the new program.”

The agenda for NPC meetings is set by the Chair. Electronic copies of the agenda accompanied by electronic documents relevant to agenda items are distributed to committee members at least two weeks prior to the meeting.

2021-2022 Meeting Dates   pending

2020-2021 Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, September 30, 2020 - Meeting Canceled
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2020
  • Wednesday, December 2, 2020
  • Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Wednesday, February 24, 2021
  • Wednesday, April 21, 2021


2019-2020 Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - NPC Memo (1), NPC Memo (2), NPC Memo (3)
  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019  - Meeting Canceled
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019  - Meeting Canceled
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019 - NPC Memo
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020 - Meeting Canceled
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2020 (Grand Rapids)
  • Wednesday, March 18, 2020 (Grand Rapids)
  • Wednesday, April 15, 2020 (Grand Rapids)

2020-2021 Members

  • Chris Plouff, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Courtney Karasinski, Vice Chair, University Academic Senate (Chair designated by ECS Chair & voting member)
  • Martin Burg, Chair, University Curriculum Committee (voting member)
  • Amy Campbell, Chair, Graduate Council (voting member)
  • Robert Hollister, Chair, Faculty Salary and Budget Committee (voting member)
  • Ellen Schendel, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Page last modified September 13, 2021