Political Science Major Commissioned as Army Officer at GVSU Ceremony

December 12, 2022

U.S. Army Lt. Jackson Wierenga, a political science major at GVSU, made campus history when he was commissioned as a second lieutenant into the United States Army Quartermaster Corps. His ceremony is the first of its kind to be held at GVSU.

Hauenstein Center and PLS Department Co-host Election Panel

October 19, 2022

A panel of experts will analyze the upcoming election.

Reuben Wins Scholarship to Attend the World Affairs Council National Conference

October 13, 2022

Tristan Reuben wins scholarship to attend the National Conference of the World Affairs Conference in Washington, DC.

GVSU Students Attend the National Security Seminar in Washington, DC

September 12, 2022

11 GVSU students spent one week in Washington studying US national security issues.

New Faculty Member: Professor Camarillo

August 26, 2022

Professor C. Tyler Godines Camarillo joins the Political Science Department as a new assistant professor this semester.

Alumni Starting Law School (1 of 2)

August 17, 2022

Clockwise from top left: Mazie Broekema, Julian Sanders, Greydon Deal, Cheyann Scutt

Alumni Heading to Law School (2 of 2)

August 17, 2022

Clockwise from top left: Alexa Aqwa, Henry Morris, Hannah Shorkey, Blake Yaeger, Abby Dood, Camilla Russo

Craig Wins GV in DC Scholarship

June 21, 2022

The Political Science Department is pleased to announce that Samantha Craig is our GV in DC Scholarship winner for 2022.

Hiskes Wins Distinguished Human Rights Scholar Award

June 7, 2022

Professor Richard Hiskes, who retired in 2020 from the GVSU Political Science Department, has been awarded the 2022 Distinguished Human Rights Scholar Award from the Human Rights Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA)

Recent Grad Interns with Czech Consulate

May 24, 2022

Stepan Loffelmann is busy with his summer internship at the Consulate of the Czech Republic in Chicago.

Page last modified December 12, 2022