University Assessment Committee

Committee Membership:

2.01.A4 - University Assessment Committee (UAC):

i.  Faculty Membership:  Faculty membership of the UAC consists of seven faculty members from CLAS, two from Seidman College of Business, one from each of the remaining colleges, one from the university libraries. 

    Academic unit representatives serve three-year staggered terms beginning at the end of the winter semester.

ii.  Service unit Membership: Service unit membership of the UAC consists of five representatives with at least one representative from each of three areas:  Advising, Student Services, and Academic Services/Information Technology.  Representatives will be appointed by the Provost.

    Service unit representatives serve three-year staggered terms beginning fall semester. 

iii.  Student Membership:  One undergraduate and one graduate student representative selected by the Student Senate for a term of one year. 

iv.  Administration Membership:  The Provost or designee ex officio, non-voting.

v.  Responsibilities:  The UAC is responsible for: 

  1. Providing leadership and support to university constituents as they design and implement the six year self-study report and three year student learning outcome assessment plans/reports based on best practices
  2. Reviewing and providing feedback on assessment plans, reports, and self-studies submitted by all academic programs and most service units.*
  3. Providing instructions for reporting formats and schedules.
  4. Provide feedback to Administration in support of ongoing accreditation standards as set forth by the Higher Learning Commission. 
  5. Conducting initial and refresher user training in Weave Online
  6. Maintaining and updating the UAC website, Blackboard site, and automated timeline and notification system..

*Service unit representatives are appointed to serve as the primary reviewer of reports submitted by service units. 

2013-2014 Committee Charge:

1. Continue to provide leadership and support to university constituents as they implement the six year self-study plans and three year learning outcome reports provided for in the University Assessment Philosophy and Policies endorsed by UAS on April 22, 2005.
2. Continue to monitor the Faculty Handbook language on assessment and propose any necessary language revisions that will clearly separate assessment philosophy, policy and procedure from each other as well as making a recommendation as to whether any of the procedural language should be removed from the Faculty Handbook.
3. Provide language for Faculty Handbook update on the committee membership due to
the restructuring of the Pew FTLC as part of the Provost’s Office as well as the need to
more accurately describe service unit representation on the UAC.
4. Continue to work with General Education and academic units to explore/develop meaningful ways to enhance assessment policies and procedures, as a service to the university.
5. Update instructions for preparing unit self studies and assessment reports.
6. Review the UAC website as needed and update.

For additional information about the University Assessment Committee policies and/or procedures, please contact Sue Harrington, UAC chair,

For policies and procedures associated with self study reports and assessment, please see "UAC Philosophy & Policies."

Page last modified August 24, 2014