Student Awards


The Glenn A. Niemeyer Awards, named for the first Provost of Grand Valley State University, honor faculty and students who strive for excellence in all aspects of a well-rounded academic experience.

Candidate Criteria:

Students selected for the Niemeyer Awards are well-rounded individuals with demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and extra-curricular activities.  Recipients excel in the classroom and demonstrate a joy of learning as part of a community of scholars.  Along with intellectual achievements, recipients participate in activities outside the classroom that serve to enrich their lives and the lives of others. 

Nominations for the Niemeyer Student Award are due February 9, 2024.

Submit a Nomination

Previous Recipients


During the 2017-2018 academic year, President Emeritus Thomas J. Haas authorized the establishment of the Gayle R. Davis First Generation College Student Emerging Leader Award to be presented by the University to a first generation sophomore or junior college student who shows a promising future as a leader.  This award is named for Gayle R. Davis who served as Provost and Executive Vice President from 2002-2017, and who was herself a first generation student and a collaborative leader.  Dr. Davis retired from Grand Valley in Spring 2017.  The Davis Award is a tribute to the high regard the University has for Dr. Davis and to the many outstanding contributions she made throughout her tenure.  

Candidate Criteria:

The Gayle R. Davis First Generation College Student Emerging Leader Award recognizes a sophomore or junior who is the first in their family to attend college and shows a promising future as a leader. The selected individual:

  • is a first generation college student
  • is making a positive impact in the Grand Valley or external community
  • is exhibiting collaborative leadership qualities
  • is excelling academically
    • has a GPA of 3.3 or higher
    • has earned between 25 and 84 credit hours at the time of nomination

Nominations for the Davis Award are due February 9, 2024.

Submit a Nomination


The Excellence in a Discipline Awards honor one undergraduate student and one graduate student in each academic major.

Candidate Criteria:
Each unit establishes its own criteria for the award. Unit faculty select the award recipient for each academic major.
Nominations are not accepted for these awards.

Additional student leadership awards are administered by the Dean of Students Office. Visit the DSO website to learn more. 

Page last modified December 5, 2023