Ceremony will celebrate faculty teaching, research, scholarship

Faculty members will be recognized for their scholarship, teaching, research and years of service at the annual Faculty Convocation, February 14, beginning at 4 p.m. in the DeVos Center's Loosemore Auditorium.

Provost Fatma Mili will welcome participants and Bopi Biddanda, professor of water resources, will give faculty remarks. Award recipients are listed below; descriptions of their innovations or research are posted online.

Robert Adams holds an award in a crowd of people, some are wearing academic regalia
Robert Adams, professor of computing, holds the Glenn A. Niemeyer Award during the 2020 Faculty Convocation. This year's event will be held February 14.
Image Credit: Valerie Hendrickson

Seven faculty members will receive University Awards for Excellence:

  • Tara Cornelius, professor of psychology, Outstanding University Service Award
  • Matthew Hart, associate professor of chemistry, University Outstanding Teacher Award
  • Tessa Jordan, associate professor of psychology, Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award
  • Priscilla Kimboko, professor of community leadership and development,¬†Outstanding Community Service Award
  • Paola Leon, associate professor of social work, Internationalization Award
  • Kay Losey, professor of writing, Distinguished Contribution in a Discipline Award
  • Christian Trefftz, professor of computing, Glenn A. Niemeyer Award

The Center for Scholarly and Creative Excellence will present the following awards:

  • Distinguished Undergraduate Mentoring Award: Richard Lord, associate professor of chemistry, and Leifa Mayers, associate professor of¬†women, gender, and sexuality studies
  • Distinguished Early-career Scholar Awards: Danielle DeVasto, assistant professor of writing; Valerie Good, assistant professor of marketing; and Anna Hammersmith, assistant professor of sociology

Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center will present the following awards:

  • Burch, Jacobs & Moore Diversity Teaching Excellence Award: Anne McKay, assistant professor of nursing
  • Pew Teaching Excellence Award for Adjunct Faculty: Sheri Rogers, adjunct instructor of political science
  • Pew Teaching with Technology Award: Richard Vandermolen, associate professor of educational leadership and counseling
  • Pew Teaching Excellence Award: Tess Armstrong, associate professor of movement science; Blake Ashby, associate professor of engineering; David Clark, associate professor of mathematics; Paul Cook, associate professor of chemistry; Joseph Fisher, professor of teaching and learning; Amorak Huey, associate professor of writing; Mikhila Wildey, associate professor of psychology
  • Pew Excellence Award for Teaching and Learning Enrichment: Robert Talbert, professor of mathematics

Faculty members with 25-40 years of service will be recognized.