Office of Sustainability Practices announces 2022 Sustainability Champion Award recipients

The annual Sustainability Champion Awards recognize Grand Valley faculty, staff and students for their outstanding contributions to sustainability efforts within the university community.

Sustainability Champions are individuals who, by practice and belief, support the ideals of sustainable practice. This year's champions are leaders who have furthered GVSU's vision to positively impact sustainability issues.

The awards were given to recipients at the April 1 Sustainability Showcase, where faculty members and students also displayed and talked about their sustainability-related research projects.

A person points to a poster containing information on research about Lake Erie algal blooms while talking with others.
Several research projects were displayed.

"This is one of our favorite events of the year because it offers us the chance to give thanks to those who embody GVSU’s sustainability values,” said Yumiko Jakobcic, director of the Office of Sustainability Practices.

Wyatt Thorndill was named the recipient of the Dave Feenstra Scholarship. This award was established in memory of Dave Feenstra, who served as an adjunct manager for the Sustainable Agriculture Project at GVSU. Thorndill is the lead intern at the Sustainable Agriculture Project.

"Receiving the Dave Feenstra Scholarship is an opportunity to help maintain the passion, skill sharing, and inclusive environment that ensure the continued success of the SAP," said Thorndill.

Three people, one of them smiling, one wearing a mask, one with back to the camera, looks at a research board.
A person's arm, covered with a plaid shirt, is seen as the person points to information on a research board.
A display on composting shows a plastic bag with bananas, greens, carrots and other items that could be composted.
Some scenes from the Sustainability Showcase.

A list of award recipients can be found below and on the Office of Sustainability Practices' website

Dave Feenstra Scholarship:

Wyatt Thorndill

Nichols Sustainability Scholarship:

Sarah Laurenz

Alaina Hogan

Sustainability Champions Award:

Student Award Winners

Jade Phillips

Macey Mikesell

Sarah Laurenz

Hannah Bacon

Abby Machiela

Jozie Hulst

Lucas Gomes

Keasha Cargill

Anna Biggs

Harold Thommen

Jacob Torok

Molly Tracy

Delane Matthysse 

Zoe Louis

Staff Award Winners

David Sinn

Amanda Buday

Christina Hipshier