Mullendore Legal Studies and Criminal Justice Scholarship

Mullendore Legal Studies and Criminal Justice Scholarship

Award varies; Renewable.

The purpose of this scholarship is to recognize and reward students who major in either Legal Studies or Criminal Justice with the intention of entering and contributing to the legal profession and also encourage them to participate in international educational opportunities. Legal profession is defined to include those who study, develop and apply law as a lawyer and also includes paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks, or other legal professionals who perform work that a lawyer would otherwise complete under the supervision of a lawyer.

This scholarship, created by James and Kristine Mullendore, James M. Mullendore received his JD from Virginia School of Law and has been in private legal practice for over 40 years. Kristine received her JD from the Boston University School of Law. Before joining the faculty of the School of Criminal Justice at GVSU, she worked as a pre-hearing attorney for the Michigan Court of Appeals, an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney for the Kent County Prosecutor's Office, and an instructor at Montcalm Community College. As active members of the Michigan Bar and experienced legal practitioners, the Mullendores recognize the importance of financial support for those pursuing a career in the legal profession

Scholarship Recipients:

  • 2020/21 - Jessica Holstege | Emma Kinch | Noah Roberts | Cameron Schultz
  • 2019/20 - Kylee R. Boals | Madeline J. Clark
  • 2018/19 -  Holly M. Bohner | Kacey L. Henning | Olivia M. Browder | Kelly A. Jahnke | Raven J. Smith
  • 2017/18 -  De'Chelle J. Richards | Kacey L. Henning | Kelly A. Jahnke
  • 2016/17 -  De'Chelle J. Richards | Amanda G. Lewis     
  • 2015/16 -  Karen S. Miller | Jewel M. Haji | Monica R. Pilarski | Amanda G. Lewis            
  • 2014/15 -  Karen S. Miller | Brenda P. Garcia | Hannah J. Meyers | Andrew R. McInnis | Kayla E. Thompson | Megan E. McKeon| Erika M. Tribuzi | Monica R. Pilarski | Constance R. Turnbull
  • 2013/14 - Paige L. DeJong | Hannah J. Meyers | Kyle N. Tank | Erika M. Tribuzi
  • 2012/13 - Paige L. DeJong | Asia L. Taylor
  • 2011/12 - Derrick A. Smith | Matthew J. Peterson | Ashley S. Tate
  • 2010/11 - Andrea N. Suttner | Lauren F. Fritz | Kaitlin G. Sweet | Lindsay M. Tryc | Melissa M. Casalina | Ashley S. Tate
  • 2009/10 - Andrea N. Suttner | Alyssa M. Desgranges | Melissa M. Casalina 
James & Kristine Mullendore

James & Kristine Mullendore

Page last modified July 6, 2021