Steinman Lab Staff

Aaron Dunnuck

Aaron Dunnuck
Adjunct Research Assistant

Michael Hassett

Michael Hassett
Scientific Technician
(616) 331-3945
[email protected]

Portrait of Kate Lucas backpacking through an alpine river valley.

Kate Lucas
Graduate Student
[email protected]

Rachel Orzechowski holding a fish

Rachel Orzechowski
Adjunct Research Assistant

Portrait photo of Noah Tucker.

Noah Tucker
Undergraduate Intern

Katie poses for the camera with a small boat in the background.

Katie Tyrrell
Adjunct Research Assistant
[email protected] 

headshot of Paris Velasquez

Paris Velasquez
Graduate Student
[email protected]

Steinman Lab Alumni

Research Associates / Technicians

  • Kurt Thompson (2009-2022). Deceased.
  • Travis Ellens (2021-2022). 
  • Rachel Orzechowski (2018-2019). Current position: Contractor, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration, Muskegon, MI
  • Emily Kindervater (2017-2021). Current position: Director of Biology Laboratories, Hope College, Holland, MI
  • Nicole Hahn (2016-2018). Current position: Administrative Assistant, Choice Schools Associates, Wyoming, MI
  • Dave Kraff (2015-2017). Current position: Teacher, Grand Rapids Public Schools, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Sara Damm (2011-2012). Current position: Laboratory Analyst, Muskegon County Wastewater Management System, Muskegon, MI
  • Maggie Oudsema (2009-2021). Current position: Developer, ITS Partners, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Elaine Sterrett Isley (2008-2010). Current position: Director of Water Programs, West Michigan Environmental Action Council, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Mary Ogdahl (2004-2015). Current position: Program Manager, Cooperative Institute for Great Lakes Research, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Lori Nemeth (2001-2005). Current position: Clinic Manager, InVision, Albuquerque, NM


Visiting Scholars on Sabbatical

  • David Fowle, Ph.D. (2014). Current position: Chair and Dean's Professor, Department of Geology, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS


Postdoctoral Advisees:

  • Lidiia Iavorivska, Ph.D. (2017-2018). Current position: Postdoctoral Researcher, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA
  • Geraldine Nogaro, Ph.D. (2011-2014). Current position: Research Engineer, EDF R&D, Paris, France
  • Nadia Gillett, Ph.D. (2010-2012). Current position: Biologist, Portland Water Bureau, Portland, OR
  • Kelly Wessell, Ph.D. (2005-2006). Current position: Professor, Tompkins Cortland Community College, Cortland, NY


Visiting Ph.D. Students:

  • Xiaomei Su (2016-2017). Current position: Scientist. Jiangsu Provincial Key Laboratory of Environmental Engineering, Jiangsu Provincial Academy of Environmental Sciences, Nanjing, China


Master’s Student Advisees:

  • Ellen Foley (2020-2022). Current position: Development Associate, Leeward Renewable Energy, Chicago, IL
  • Katy Sheets (2019-2021). Current position: Development Coordinator, Alpha Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Paige Kleindl (2017-2019). Current position: PhD student, Florida International University, Miami, FL
  • Kim Oldenborg (2016-2018). Current position: Senior Analyst, The Cadmus Group, Madison, WI
  • Emily Kindervater (2015-2017). Current position: Director of Biology Laboratories, Hope College, Holland, MI
  • Delilah Clement (2014-2016). Current position: Web Developer, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, IL
  • James Smit (2012-2014). Current position: Senior Project Coordinator, Atwell LLC, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Whitney Nelson (2009-2011). Current position: Research Scientist, Novozymes Animal Health and Nutrition Division, Fayetteville, AR
  • Kelli (Johnson) Hicks (2007 -2010). Current position: Senior Scientist, BBJ Group, Columbus, OH
  • Matt Cooper, Ph.D. (2007-2009). Current position: Faculty Member, Muskegon Community College, Muskegon, MI
  • Jennifer Cymbola (2004-2007). Current position: Senior Affiliate Professor, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, MI


Undergraduate Students / Technical Call-Ins:

  • Allie Romanski (2023)
  • Allison Passejna (2022-2023)
  • Jacquelyn Molloseau (2021-2023)
  • Taylor Suttorp (2021)
  • Jane Johnston (2019-2020)
  • Hannah Shorkey (2020)
  • Rachel Orzechowski (2018-2019)
  • Devi Haria (2014)
  • Eric Tidquist (2011)
  • Carrie Hause (2010-2011)


NSF-REU Interns:

  • Brooke Ridenour (2017). Juniata College.
  • Muhidin Abdimalek (2015). University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Page last modified May 20, 2024