2023-2024 Student Awards Convocation

Student Awards Convocation
Monday, April 8, 2024
6:00 p.m.
L.V. Eberhard Center, Pew Grand Rapids Campus

Glenn A. Niemeyer Award

The Glenn A. Niemeyer Award recognizes well-rounded individuals with demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and extra-curricular activities that serve to enrich their lives and the lives of others.

Outstanding Undergraduate Students

  • Aseel Ayesh, Accounting and Finance
  • Louis Cousino, Sociology

Outstanding Graduate Students

  • Henry Peña, Doctor of Nursing Practice
  • Evan Potter, Health Administration

Gayle R. Davis First Generation College Student Emerging Leader Award

The Davis Award recognizes a sophomore or junior who is the first generation in their family to attend college and shows a promising future as a leader.

  • Tianna Davis, Political Science

Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award

The Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award honors one student from each undergraduate and graduate discipline. Faculty from each department select the recipient based upon an earned minimum number of credit hours at an exceptional grade point average, along with other criteria identified by each unit as appropriate for use in determining academic excellence in their program. 


Emma Buschle, Advertising and Public Relations
Shirley Shane, Anthropology
Lisa Sonke, Art Education
Kelly Morgan, Art History
Megan Singer, Behavioral Neuroscience
Kian Barnes, Biochemistry
Collin Toth, Biology
Jonathan McCabe, Biomedical Sciences
Vincent Sartori, Cell and Molecular Biology
Jonathan Bajko, Chemistry
Hannah Foster, Classics
Y Hong Nhu Nguyen, Communication Studies
Rose Konnie, Comprehensive Science and Arts for Teaching
Alaina Hogan, Dance
Erin Jacob, Earth Science
Johnathon Pipla, English
Jenna Adema, English-Teaching
Alexis Phillips, Exercise Science
Hannah Scout Dunaway, Film and Video
Alexis Deephouse, Fisheries and Aquatic Science
Avery Koan, Geography
Lauren Phelps, Geology
Owen McCaffrey, Geology-Chemistry
Quinn Hefferan Nordlund, German
Jarrod Heethuis, Health and Physical Education
Hannah Randles, Health Communication
Hannah Krebs, History
Haley Duimstra, Integrated Science-Elementary

Julia Smolinski, International Relations
Elizabeth Schanz, Journalism, Broadcasting, and Digital Media
Lauryn Davis, Mathematics
Abigail Milkins, Microbiology
Natalie Feldpausch, Music
Bess Hudson, Natural Resources and Environmental Management
Matthew Koren, Pedagogical Content Knowledge of Elementary Teaching
Katherine Kroma, Philosophy
Annabelle Robinson, Photography
Ryan Childers, Physics
Ellen Smoes, Political Science
Zoe Schultz, Psychology
Jill Ely, Social Studies
Louis Cousino, Sociology
Nina Alpers, Spanish
Kenleigh West-Wing, Sport Management
Katherine Kalmbach, Statistics
Abby Haywood, Studio Art
Katie Rain Auberle, Theatre
Lindsay Scheffler, Wildlife Biology
Ashlyn Miller, Writing
Clara Voetberg, Applied Statistics, M.A.
Mary Parr, Biology, M.S.
Olivia Sweeney, Biomedical Sciences, M.H.S.
Sophie Mikonczyk, Biostatistics, M.S.
Jeannie Kane, Cell and Molecular Biology, M.S.
Esi Aniwa, Communication, M.S.
Anna Mayotte, School Psychology, Psy.S.


Madelyn Scheese, Accounting
Owen Laverty, Business Economics
Jonathan Daza-Holwerda, Business General
Matthew Streeter, Economics
Enrique Latino, Entrepreneurship
Leah Hanacek, Finance
Emily Butkowski, General Management
Sarah Bancroft, Human Resources Management
Abigail Carr, International Business 
Tom Tuy, Management
Emily Butkowski, Marketing
Rogelio Contreras-Fuentes, Operations Management
Leah Cencer, Supply Chain Management
Emily Booms-Lewis, Accounting, M.S.A.
Jowei Yek, Business, M.B.A. 
Samira Surani,Taxation, M.S.T.


Tara Denhof, Criminal Justice 
Bren Frick, Education for Younger Children, Birth to Kindergarten, General and Special Education
Marla Anderson, Elementary Education
Drew Carter, Hospitality & Tourism Management
Morgan Taulbee, Legal Studies
Isabella Grunwaldt, Public and Nonprofit Administration
Caroline Bell, Secondary Education
Sarah Tyria, Social Work
Alyson Serene, Special Education
Narelle Hickmon, Criminal Justice, M.S.
Natalie Zadorozny, Educational Leadership, M.Ed.
Benjamin Fetterley, Health Administration, M.H.A.
Obed Boateng, Higher Education, M.Ed.
Ashly Latham, Instruction and Curriculum, M.Ed.
Kassidi Adams, Literacy Studies, M.Ed. 
Azzam Alfarraj, Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership, M.P.N.L.
Colton Hyble, Public Administration, M.P.A.
Misty Johnson, School Counseling, M.Ed. 
Jack Boitel, Social Innovation, M.A.
Michaeleen Rood, Social Work, M.S.W.


Cara Franke, Biomedical Engineering
Seth Konynenbelt, Computer Engineering
Natalie Kline, Computer Science
Logan Nommensen, Cybersecurity
Sean Follo, Electrical Engineering
Joseph Jungerheld III, Information Systems
Jeremiah Adkins, Information Technology
Madeline Schubert, Mechanical Engineering
Cory Hodge, Occupational Safety and Health Management
Logan Heft, Product Design and Manufacturing Engineering
Astha Thapa, Applied Computer Science, M.S.
Collins Onyango, Cybersecurity, M.S.
Trevor Kishbaugh, Data Science and Analytics, M.S.
Aaron Mulder, Engineering, M.S.E.
Marwah Talbeh, Health Informatics and Bioinformatics, M.S.


Mitchell Tiell, Allied Health Sciences
Catherine Gonzales, Applied Food and Nutrition
Kelsey Fisher, Cardiovascular Sonography
Gabrielle Bishop, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Gabriella Stoch, Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Kaylin Hoezee, Health Information Management
Kelli VanDyke, Medical Laboratory Science
Grace Staskiewicz, Radiation Therapy
Olivia Adgate, Recreational Therapy
Ryan Sheeran, Athletic Training, M.A.T
Kyle Smietanski, Clinical Dietetics, M.S.
Joseph Pape, Medical Dosimetry, M.S.
Melanie Koto, Occupational Therapy, M.S.
Justin Smith, Physician Assistant Studies, M.P.A.S.
Olivia Martin, Public Health, M.P.H.
Sami Dowling, Recreational Therapy, M.S.
Devynn Vega, Speech-Language Pathology, M.S.
Charles Bickford, Audiology, Au.D.
Josilyn Grotenhuis, Physical Therapy, D.P.T.


Ruhi Khanna, Global Studies and Social Impact
Jonathan McCabe, Honors College
Torri Blue, Integrative Studies
Tonya Mongar, Leadership and Business Fundamentals
Brandi Kinyon, Professional Innovation
Kali Blick, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies


Lee Blumenauer, Nursing
Megan Urbanick, Nursing, M.S.N.
Ilanit Marx, Nursing, D.N.P.

Page last modified April 4, 2024