2021-2022 Student Awards Convocation

Congratulations to all of our student awards winners! 

Glenn A. Niemeyer Award

The Glenn A. Niemeyer Award recognizes well-rounded individuals with demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and extra-curricular activities that serve to enrich their lives and the lives of others.

Outstanding Undergraduate Students
Sarah Fayth Bear Krishef (Film and Video and Writing)
Lesley Pennington (Nursing)
Samuel Menzie (Occupational Health and Safety Management)

Outstanding Graduate Students
Keith Abraham (Nursing, D.N.P.)
Hayley Hall (Physical Therapy, D.P.T.)

Gayle R. Davis First Generation College Student Emerging Leader Award

The Davis Award recognizes a sophomore or junior who is the first generation in their family to attend college and shows a promising future as a leader.

Alexis Krichevsky, Political Science

Thomas M. Seykora Award for Outstanding Contribution

The Seykora Award recognizes a number of seniors who, through their involvement, have made significant and outstanding contributions to the campus community.

Aziz Sarhan Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Nicole Seiler, Occupational Safety and Health Management
Faith Kidd, Political Science
Autumn Mueller, Political Science and Marketing
Arly Winchester, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Nicole Hinman, Writing

Kenneth R. Venderbush Leadership Award

The Venderbush Award recognizes a senior who has demonstrated an exceptional blend of academic achievement and leadership effectiveness during their tenure at Grand Valley State University.

Marian Reid, Biomedical Sciences 

Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award

The Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award honors one student from each undergraduate and graduate discipline. Faculty from each department select the recipient based upon an earned minimum number of credit hours at an exceptional grade point average, along with other criteria identified by each unit as appropriate for use in determining academic excellence in their program. 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Victor Carter, Advertising and Public Relations
Dane McAllister, Anthropology
Jennifer Jermolowicz, Art Education
Mila VanderWall, Art History
Madelyn Eckel, Behavioral Neuroscience
Micah Fernando, Biochemistry
Emma Miller, Biology
Tina Nguyen, Biomedical Sciences
Isabel Thompson, Cell and Molecular Biology
Olivia Gordon, Chemistry
Kaitlyn Siersema, Classics
Kira D’Agostino, Communication Studies
Jesse Handelsman, Comprehensive Science and Arts for Teaching
Megan Wolter,  Dance
Rachel Velderman, English
Grace Stetsko, Exercise Science
Joshua Geyer, Film and Video
Ian Curtis, French
Isabel Soberal, Geography and Sustainable Planning
Lillian Minnebo, Geology
Michael Stefanou, Geology-Chemistry
Riley Miller, German

Marissa Acevedo, Health Communication
Rebekkah Bowen, History
Leah Hall, Integrated Science, Elementary
Noah Weeda, Integrated Science, Secondary
Haley Petragallo, International Relations
Nicholas Layman, Mathematics
Paige Paul-Wilson, Microbiology
Audrey Whitaker, Multimedia Journalism
Tumaini Sango, Music
Emma Fitzgerald, Natural Resources Management
Michael Edozie, Philosophy
Nao Hasegawa, Photography
Hannah Becker, Physical Education
Robert Dolan, Physics
Kyle Huisman, Political Science
Liam Hart, Psychology
Niabh Keenan, Social Studies
Amber Anderson, Sociology
Noah DeHollander, Spanish
Stephen Arnold, Sport Management
Ashley Duimstra, Statistics
Gabrielle Van Lente Schaub, Studio Art
Hamlet Arnott, Theatre

Caley Johnson, Wildlife Biology
Jessica Barnard, Writing
Kellie Corbett, Applied Linguistics (M.A.)
Megan Woodworth, Applied Statistics (M.S.)
Alyssa Swinehart, Biology (M.S.)
Nicholas Bunda, Biomedical Sciences (M.H.S.)
Alicia Stowe, Biostatistics (M.S.)
Alexis Hoskins, Cell and Molecular Biology (M.S.)
Brittany Bahl, Communications (M.S.)
Josh Aldrich, English (M.A.)
Abigail Coberly, School Psychology (M.S.)

Seidman College of Business

Anne Petzold, Accounting
Lynsey Amthor, Business Economics
Varvara Griva, Economics
Luke Geiger, Entrepreneurship
Samantha Jelsema, Finance
Sydney Brzezinski, General Management
Nadia Gonzalez, Human Resource Management
Mackenzie Broekstra, International Business
Jacob Wilson, Management
Madison Blanchett, Marketing
Jared Aulick, Operations Management
Alisha Briley, Supply Chain Management
Julia Hofmann, Accounting (M.S.A.)
Hans Broeckert, General Business (M.B.A.)

College of Education and Community Innovation

Miyah Seckinger, Criminal Justice
Ashlyn Ritsema, Early Childhood Education
Natalie Walejewski, Elementary Education
Raven Thompson, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Emma Peterman, Legal Studies
Kristin Cundiff, Public and Nonprofit Administration
Janalee Lyke, Secondary Education
Rueda Abdirahman, Social Work
Jesse Handelsman, Special Education
Alexis LaFata, Criminal Justice (M.S.)
Brock Buozis, Health Administration (M.H.A.)
Olivia Knodel, Higher Education (M.Ed.)
Taylor Triemstra, Instruction and Curriculum (M.Ed.)
Abigail Williamson, Literacy Studies (M.Ed.)
Holly Honig, Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership (M.P.N.L.)
Kate White, Public Administration (M.P.A.)
Stacey Skorupski Abbs, School Counseling (M.Ed.)
Thomas Worm, Social Work (M.S.W.)
Kristina Koning, Special Education (M.Ed.)
Matthew Lewis, Educational Specialist in Leadership (Ed.S.)

Seymour and Esther Padnos College of Engineering and Computing

Dominic Smith, Computer Engineering
Nathan Funckes, Computer Science
Mary Benton, Cybersecurity
Karmyn VonEhr, Electrical Engineering
Nicole Nelson, Interdisciplinary Engineering
Kara Byers, Information Systems
Isaac Beasley, Information Technology
Camryn Lozon, Mechanical Engineering
Nicole Seiler, Occupational Safety and Health Management
Elizabeth Mitchell, Applied Computer Science (M.S.)
Jacob Coddaire, Cybersecurity (M.S.)
Alyssa Hawker, Data Science and Analytics (M.S.)
North Yates, Engineering (M.S.E.)
Sierra Strutz, Health Informatics and Bioinformatics (M.S.)

College of Health Professions

Nicholas Brough, Allied Health Sciences
Ashley Teltow, Applied Food and Nutrition
Katelynn Smith, Cardiovascular Sonography
Brittany Daniel, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Dana Frye, Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Zoe Janik, Health Information Management
Caitlin Calcutt, Medical Laboratory Science
Markia Kastelz, Radiation Therapy
Vincenza Alfano, Recreational Therapy
Alex Coon, Athletic Training (M.A.T.)
Alyssa Koopman, Clinical Dietetics (M.S.)
Stephanie Graham, Medical Dosimetry (M.S.)
Bethany Abramczyk, Occupational Therapy (M.S.)
Morgan Klein, Physician Assistant Studies (M.P.A.S.)
Jaylee Brown, Public Health (M.P.H.)
Robin Skrbina, Speech-Language Pathology (M.S.)
Zoe Lionas, Audiology (Au.D.)
Malorie Vasseur, Physical Therapy (D.P.T.)

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Anna Watson, Environmental and Sustainability Studies
Nadia Gonzalez, Frederik Meijer Honors College
Courtney Hiler, Global Studies and Social Impact
Michelle Cole, Integrative Studies
Shaylynne Kotch, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Daniel Falknor, Social Innovation (M.A.)

Kirkhof College of Nursing

Elizabeth Martin, Nursing
Kelsey Crampton, Nursing (D.N.P.)

Page last modified October 5, 2022