2020-2021 Student Awards Convocation

Congratulations to all of our student awards winners! Although current events made it impossible for us to gather to celebrate your achievements, we want to recognize and honor your accomplishments and celebrate your academic excellence.

Glenn A. Niemeyer Award

The Glenn A. Niemeyer Award recognizes well-rounded individuals with demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and extra-curricular activities that serve to enrich their lives and the lives of others.

Outstanding Undergraduate Student
Isabella Purosky, Biochemistry and Music

Outstanding Full-time Graduate Student
Taylor Slais, Accounting, M.S.A.

Outstanding Part-time Graduate Student
Cheryl Bos, Nursing, D.N.P

Gayle R. Davis First Generation College Student Emerging Leader Award

The Davis Award recognizes a sophomore or junior who is the first generation in their family to attend college and shows a promising future as a leader.

Maira Hurtado, Nursing

Thomas M. Seykora Award for Outstanding Contribution

The Seykora Award recognizes a number of seniors who, through their involvement, have made significant and outstanding contributions to the campus community.

Lilly Radke, Nursing
Travis Gort, Nursing and Psychology
Lauren Moine, Political Science and Criminal Justice
Gillian Garton, Social Work
Hannah Kelly, Writing

Kenneth R. Venderbush Leadership Award

The Venderbush Award recognizes a senior who has demonstrated an exceptional blend of academic achievement and leadership effectiveness during their tenure at Grand Valley State University.

Jenna Stolzman, Mechanical Engineering 

Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award

The Excellence-in-a-Discipline Award honors one student from each undergraduate and graduate discipline. Faculty from each department selection the recipient based upon an earned minimum number of credit hours at an exceptional grade point average.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Dominic Cassisi, Advertising and Public Relations
Capriana Calvachi, Anthropology
Mary Roehm, Art Education
Erin Reasoner, Behavioral Neuroscience
Colin McHugh, Biochemistry
Samantha Super, Biology
Natalie Rizza, Biomedical Sciences
Julia Fagaly, Cell and Molecular Biology
Megan Shaw, Chemistry
Meghan O'Neill, Classics
Morgan Lemmen, Communication Studies
Isayana Gallegos, Comprehensive Science and Arts for Teaching
Rya Greene, Dance
Elyse Greenwood, English
Olivia Nurenberg, Exercise Science
Jordan Skutar, Film and Video
Shania Mason, French
Samantha Post, Geography
Jared Myers, Geology
Hanna Szydlowski, Geology-Chemistry
Gabi Loche, German

Erin Martin, Health Communication
Chrystina Ochsankehl, History
Madalyn Kennedy, Integrated Science
Elyssa Linderman, International Relations
Anna Stover, Mathematics
Blake Newton, Microbiology
Nick Moran, Multimedia Journalism
James Groelsma, Music
Hannah Clarida, Natural Resources Management
Zachary Tenney, Philosophy
Jillian Neumann, Photography
Sara Westrate, Physical Education
Logan Owen, Physics
Starr Sumner, Political Science
Bethany Schmid, Psychology
Mary Meyer, Social Studies
Alyssa Langlois, Sociology
Alexander Agbabian, Spanish
Madison Summerfield, Sport Management
Levi Rosendall, Statistics
Lilah Parker, Studio Art
Marcus Chapman, Theatre

Amanda Pszczolkowski, Writing
Lauren Penninga, Athletic Training (M.A.T.)
Jeff Heise, Biology (M.S.)
Hilary Skalski, Biomedical Sciences (M.H.S.)
Rachel Thompson, Biostatistics (M.S.)
Alexandria Thompson, Cell and Molecular Biology (M.S.)
Zoe Newmann, Communications (M.S.)
Melissa Damico, English (M.A.)
Alexis Thurber, School Psychology (M.S.)

Seidman College of Business

Emily Booms, Accounting
Stephen Arnold, Business Economics
Jordan Pattison, Economics
Trevor McMahon, Entreprenuership
Brock Rubin, Finance
Daniela Ceccato, General Business
Ashlyn Kartes, General Management
Heather Stoliker, Human Resource Management
Emmeline Dyer, International Business
Kelsey Detweiler, Management 
Mark Tamminga, Marketing
Amanda Eshleman, Operations Management
Huong Do, Supply Chain Management
Michael Heinisch, Accounting (M.S.A.)
Logan Pauli, General Business (M.B.A.)

College of Community and Public Service

Grace Darling, Criminal Justice
Alison Jamrog, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Carmen Goodson, Legal Studies
Grace Failor, Public and Nonprofit Administration
Gerardo Vasquez, Social Work 
Alyssa McCord, Criminal Justice (M.S.)
Spencer Gilles, Health Administration (M.H.A.)
Kellie Fitzgerald, Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership (M.P.N.L.)
Kelli Dykstra, Public Administration (M.P.A.)
Marigold Cobbina, Social Work (M.S.W.)

College of Education

Toby Custer, Elementary Education
Landon Bell, Secondary Education
Alyssa Bargabus, Special Education
Julie Bergmann, Educational Specialist in Leadership (Ed.S.)
Rachel Anderson, Educational Leadership (M.Ed.)
Caroline Murray, Higher Education (M.Ed.)
Kimberly Knoester, Instruction and Curriculum (M.Ed.)
Allison Nierboer, Literacy Studies (M.Ed.)
Laura VanDyke, School Counseling (M.Ed.)
Sarah Jenks, Special Education (M.Ed.)

Seymour and Esther Padnos College of Engineering and Computing

Adan Pantoja, Computer Engineering
Matthew Shan, Computer Science
Katey Armstrong, Electrical Engineering
Elizabeth Mitchell, Information Systems
Habiba Salem, Information Technology
Maxwell Chumley, Mechanical Engineering
Zachary Mikulec, Occupational Safety and Health Management
Chase Frarey, Product Design and Manufacturing Engineering
Justin Wickenheiser, Applied Computer Science (M.S.)
Daniel Wolf, Cybersecurity (M.S.)
Julian Carrasquillo, Data Science and Analytics (M.S.)
Jackson Brennecke, Engineering (M.S.E.)
Jigyasha Timsina, Health Informatics and Bioinformatics (M.S.)

College of Health Professions

Marissa Karadsheh, Allied Health Sciences
Jenna Bryant, Cardiovascular Sonography
Sydney Gillespie, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Erika Lechner, Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Abbey Cook, Health Information Management
Claire Hoffman, Medical Laboratory Science
Nicole Esposito, Radiation Therapy
Katelyn Bennett, Recreational Therapy
Stephanie Vaughn, Occupational Therapy (Dr.O.T.)
Courtney Laughlin, Physical Therapy (D.P.T.)
Ellen Smartt, Clinical Dietetics (M.S.)
Yvonne Tran, Medical Dosimetry (M.S.)
Natalie Loewengruber, Occupational Therapy (M.S.)
Charlotte Cassidy, Physician Assistant Studies (M.P.A.S.)
Derek Hart, Public Health (M.P.H.)
Mary Kate Hoeve, Speech-Language Pathology (M.S.)

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Sierra Barnes, Environmental and Sustainability Studies
Emily Hermann, Frederik Meijer Honors College 
Joshua Trierweiler, Global Studies and Social Impact
Randee Broemmel, Integrative Studies
Braeden Michael Homrich, Religious Studies
Gabrielle Angel, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Kirsten Rydzewski, Social Innovation (M.A.)

Kirkhof College of Nursing

Hannah Rojas, Nursing 
Darby Disselkoen, Nursing (D.N.P.)