Faculty and Staff


Program Coordinator


David Stark

David Stark

Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
History Department
Coordinator, Latin American and Latino/a Studies
Areas of Interest: Colonial Latin America, Caribbean, Slavery
616-331-3174
D-1-216 Mackinac Hall
starkd@gvsu.edu


Faculty


Andy Schlewitz

Andrew Schlewitz

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Area and Global Studies
Political Science Department

Areas of Interest: Latin American and Latino/a Studies, Latin American Politics, Comparative Politics, International Relations
616-331-8258
103 Lake Ontario Hall
schlewia@gvsu.edu


Affiliate Faculty


Brian Deyo

Brian Deyo

Associate Professor
English Department
Areas of Interest: Postcolonial Studies
616-331-3388
168 Lake Huron Hall
deyob@gvsu.edu 

Elizabeth

Elizabeth Gansen

Assistant Professor
Modern Languages and Literatures
Area of Study: Spanish
616-331-8769
B-2-216 Mackinac Hall
gansenel@gvsu.edu  

Mayra Fortes Gonzalez

Mayra Fortes González

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Modern Languages and Literatures
616-331-3804
D-2-118 Mackinac Hall
fortesm@gvsu.edu

Michael Huner

Michael Huner

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Cape Hill
History Department
Areas of Interest: Modern Latin America, World History, 19th and 20th century, State Formation
616-331-3420
D-1-136 Mackinac Hall
hunerm@gvsu.edu

Jeff Kelly

Jeff Kelly Lowenstein

Assistant Professor
M.S.J. in Journalism, Northwestern University
School of Communications
Area of Study: Multimedia Journalism
616-331-3668
224 Lake Superior Hall
kellyloj@gvsu.edu

Paola Leon

Paola (Mirta) Leon

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Department of Social Work
Areas of Interest: Community mental health, Qualitative research, Violence against women, Service learning
616-331-6561
357-C Richard M. DeVos Center
leonm@gvsu.edu

Dennis Malaret

Dennis Malaret

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Sociology Department
Areas of Interest: Race and Ethnicity, Youth
616-331-3113
2152 Au Sable Hall
malaretd@gvsu.edu

Zulema Moret

Zulema Moret

Professor
Ph.D., Basque Country University
Modern Languages and Literatures
616-331-2286 
B-2-242 Mackinac Hall
moretz@gvsu.edu

Jim Penn

Jim Penn

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida
Department of Geography and Sustainable Planning
Areas of Interest: Latin America, Amazonia, Non-timber Forest Resources, Tropical Agriculture, Natural Resource Use, Protected Areas, Demographic Change, Globalization and Development
616-331-8522
1155 Au Sable Hall
pennji@gvsu.edu

Toni Perrine

Toni Perrine

Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Department of Visual and Media Arts
616-331-3795
218 Lake Superior Hall
perrinet@gvsu.edu

Russell Rhoads

Russell Rhoads

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Kentucky
Anthropology Department
Areas of Interest: Applied and Development Anthropology, Food and Agriculture, Dislocation and Resettlement, Qualitative and Ethnographic Methods
616-331-3018
1162 Au Sable Hall
rhoadsr@gvsu.edu

Luis

Luis Rodríguez Cortés

Assistant Professor
Modern Languages and Literatures
Area of Study: Spanish
616-331-2997
B-2-210 Mackinac Hall 
rodrilui@gvsu.edu 
 

Nora Salas

Nora Salas

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 
History Department
616-331-3134
D-1-126 Mackinac Hall
salasn@gvsu.edu

Medar Serrata

Médar Serrata

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Modern Languages and Literatures
616-331-3459
D-2-114 Mackinac Hall
serratam@gvsu.edu

Joel Stillerman

Joel Stillerman

Professor
Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Sociology Department
Areas of Interest: Urban Sociology, Consumer Culture, Labor and Labor Movements, Inequalities, Latin America
616-331-3129
2166 Au Sable Hall
stillejo@gvsu.edu

Christian Trefftz

Christian Trefftz

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University
School of Computing & Information Systems
616-331-3646
C-2-110 Mackinac Hall
trefftz@gvsu.edu

Melba Velez Ortiz

Melba Vélez Ortiz

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
School of Communications
616-331-8183
107 Lake Michigan Hall
velortme@gvsu.edu

Christopher Shaffer

Christopher Shaffer

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis
Sociology Department
Areas of Interest: Biological Anthropology, Conservation Ecology, Ecological Anthropology, and variation in Material Hunting Technology
616-331-8210
226 Lake Michigan Hall
shafferc@gvsu.edu

Keith Watts

Keith Watts

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
Modern Languages and Literatures
616-331-3168
B-2-257 Mackinac Hall
wattsk@gvsu.edu

John Weber

John Weber

Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Geology Department
616-331-3191
213 Padnos Hall of Science
weberj@gvsu.edu

Michael Wroblewski

Michael Wroblewski

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona
Anthropology Department
616-331-2325
230 Lake Michigan Hall
wroblewm@gvsu.edu

Raul Ysasi

Raul Ysasi

Affiliate Faculty
Ed.D., Wayne State University
College of Education
616-331-3343
352-C Richard M. DeVos Center
ysasir@gvsu.edu