Arnold C. Ott Lectureship in Chemistry

The Arnold C. Ott Lectureship in Chemistry was created and endowed by a generous gift from Dr. Arnold C. Ott and Marion Ott. Dr. Ott received his Ph.D. in 1943 from Michigan State University in Chemistry/Physics/Bacteriology and is a leading chemist and entrepreneur in West Michigan. He is one of the co-founders of Grand Valley State University and served on the GVSU Board of Trustees for 28 years.

Dr. Anne McNeil
Arnold Ott Lectureship, Dr. Anne McNeil, University of Michigan.  Public lecture title: Microplastics are here, there, and everywhere.  Apr 14, 2021 6pm, Grand River Room. Reception beginning at 5pm.Chemistry lecture title: Synthetic Approaches to Sustainable Materials  Apr 15, 2021 1pm, Pere Marquette room.

Community Lecture:  Microplastics are Here, There and Everywhere

  • Thursday, April 14, 6:00 - 7:00 pm  Grand River Room,
  • Russel H. Kirkhof Center, Allendale Campus
  • Reception begins at 5:00 pm

Chemistry Seminar:  Synthetic Approaches to Sustainable Materials

  • Friday, April 15, 1:00 - 2:00 pm  Pere Marquette Room
  • Russel H. Kirkhof, Center Allendale Campus

Kirkoff Center, GVSU

Anne McNeil is the Carol A. Fierke Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and Macromolecular Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan. She is also an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and HHMI Professor. Her current research interests include chemical recycling of waste plastic, methods for capturing microplastics, developing adsorbents for poly- and per-fluoroalkylsubstances, and identifying new materials for redox flow batteries. She has received numerous awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, AAAS Fellow, Sloan Fellow, Dreyfus Fellow, Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award, Claudia Joan Alexander Trailblazer Award, and the Provost's Teaching Innovation Prize, among others. Prior to Michigan, Anne was a L’Oreal Post-doc Fellow with Prof. Tim Swager at MIT and earned her PhD from Cornell with Prof. Dave Collum, and graduated summa cum laude with a BS in Chemistry from the College of William and Mary (1999).

Previous Ott Lecturers

Vernon Ehlers, Ph.D.
U.S. Congress

Michael D. Parker, M.B.A.
Dow Chemical Company

Carl Djerassi, Ph.D.
Stanford University

Robin D. Rogers, Ph.D.
University of Alabama

Virginia W. Cornish, Ph.D.
Columbia University

Richard N. Zare, Ph.D.
Stanford University

Thomas H. Lane, Ph.D.
Dow Corning Corporation

Chad A. Mirkin, Ph.D.
Northwestern University

Gregory A. Petsko, Ph.D.
Brandeis University

Harry B. Gray, Ph.D.
California Institute of Technology

Gary M. Hieftje, Ph.D.
Indiana University

Roderick MacKinnon, M.D.
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
The Rockefeller University

Kevan Shokat, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco

Ada Yonath, Ph.D.
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
Weizmann Institute of Science

W. Carl Lineberger, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Boulder

Richmond Sarpong, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley

Jeffrey Moore, Ph.D.
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Wilson Ho, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine

Geraldine Richmond, Ph.D.
University of Oregon

Sara E. Skrabalak, Ph.D.
Indiana University

Thomas J. Meyer, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Brian K. Shoichet, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco

Daniel M. Neumark, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley

Stephen L. Buchwald, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Melanie Sanford, Ph.D.
University of Michigan

Karen Trentelman, Ph.D.
Getty Conservation Institute

Page last modified March 23, 2022