MTA/MACRAO Transfer Agreement

The Michigan Transfer Agreement [MTA] and the Michigan Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers [MACRAO] Transfer Agreement are designed to facilitate transfer from community colleges to baccalaureate colleges and universities.

Students who transfer to Grand Valley with the MTA/MACRAO approved associate of arts or science degree from a Michigan public community college have satisfied the Foundations of the General Education Program and one (1) Supplemental Writing Skills (SWS) course. Transfer students with a MTA/MACRAO are still required to complete the following requirements: one (1) SWS course in their major or college and the Capstone course in that major and the B.A. or B.S. degree requirement where applicable. In addition, transfer students with a MTA/MACRAO must also fulfill the following general education requirements: the two-course Cultures requirement and two (2) Issues courses.

Students should complete a MTA/MACRAO Audit at community college in order to get the MTA/MACRAO STAMP on the official transcript. Students are responsible for ordering official transcripts after completing courses at community college.

Participating Transfer Schools

The following Community Colleges senior institutions participate in the MTA/MACRAO Transfer Agreement:

Alpena CC, Bay de Noc CC, Bay Mills CC, Delta College, Glen Oaks CC, Gogebic CC, Grand Rapids CC, Henry Ford CC, Jackson CC, Kellogg CC, Kirtland CC, Lake Michigan College, Lansing CC, Macomb CC, Mid Michigan CC, Monroe County CC, Montcalm CC, Mott CC, Muskegon CC, North Central MC, Northwestern MC, Oakland CC, St. Clair County CC, Schoolcraft College, Southwestern MC, Washtenaw CC, Wayne County CC, West Shore Adrian College*, Albion College, Baker College, Calvin College*, Central Michigan University, Cleary University, Concordia University*, Davenport University, Eastern Michigan University*, Ferris State University*, Finlandia University*, Grand Valley State University*, Lake Superior State University, Lawrence Tech. University*, Madonna University*, Marygrove College, Michigan State University*, Michigan Tech. University*, Northern Michigan University*, Northwood University, Oakland University*, Olivet College, Rochester College, Saginaw Valley State University*, Saint Mary's College, Siena Heights University*, Spring Arbor University, Western Michigan University

*Senior institutions with limitations or exceptions to the MTA/MACRAO Transfer Agreement. Check with your Community College advisor/counselor and an admissions representative from the senior institution to learn more about these limitations or exceptions before you transfer.

Page last modified May 18, 2020