Skip to main content

MACRAO/MTA Transfer Agreement

MACRAO/MTA Transfer Agreement

The Michigan Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers [MACRAO] Transfer Agreement and the Michigan Transfer Agreement [MTA] is designed to facilitate transfer from community colleges to baccalaureate colleges and universities.

MACRAO/MTA satisfies Grand Valley's general education Foundations, Writing 150, and one Supplemental Writing Skills course. Students transferring with a MACRAO/MTA are still required to demonstrate proficiency in mathematics (MTH 110), fulfill the junior-level writing requirement (a satisfactory score on the junior-level assessment essay or a grade of C or better in WRT 305), and complete one SWS course in the major or division as part of Grand Valley`s basic skills requirements. In addition, they must also fulfill the two-course cultural emphasis requirement, and one three-course Theme within the General Education Program.

Students should complete a MACRAO/MTA Audit at community college in order to get the MACRAO/MTA STAMP on the official transcript. Students are responsible for ordering official transcripts after completing courses at community college.

Participating Transfer Schools

The following Community Colleges senior institutions participate in the MACRAO/MTA Transfer Agreement:

Alpena CC, Bay de Noc CC, Bay Mills CC, Delta College, Glen Oaks CC, Gogebic CC, Grand Rapids CC, Henry Ford CC, Jackson CC, Kellogg CC, Kirtland CC, Lake Michigan College, Lansing CC, Macomb CC, Mid Michigan CC, Monroe County CC, Montcalm CC, Mott CC, Muskegon CC, North Central MC, Northwestern MC, Oakland CC, St. Clair County CC, Schoolcraft College, Southwestern MC, Washtenaw CC, Wayne County CC, West Shore Adrian College*, Albion College, Baker College, Calvin College*, Central Michigan University, Cleary University, Concordia University*, Davenport University, Eastern Michigan University*, Ferris State University*, Finlandia University*, Grand Valley State University*, Lake Superior State University, Lawrence Tech. University*, Madonna University*, Marygrove College, Michigan State University*, Michigan Tech. University*, Northern Michigan University*, Northwood University, Oakland University*, Olivet College, Rochester College, Saginaw Valley State University*, Saint Mary's College, Siena Heights University*, Spring Arbor University, Western Michigan University

*Senior institutions with limitations or exceptions to the MACRAO/MTA Transfer Agreement. Check with your Community College advisor/counselor and an admissions representative from the senior institution to learn more about these limitations or exceptions before you transfer.