Faculty & Staff

Staff & Department Information

Department of Political Science

1121 Au Sable Hall
1 Campus Drive
Grand Valley State University
Allendale, MI 49401-9403

plsdept@gvsu.edu
(616) 331-2320
Fax: (616) 331-3550

Norene Hendricks

Academic Department Coordinator

hendricn@gvsu.edu
(616) 331-2320

 

Faculty

Mark Richards

Mark Richards

Political Science Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
Professor
1106 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3457
richardm@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: constitutional law, freedom of expression, judicial politics


Polly Diven

Polly Diven

Director, International Relations Program
On Sabbatical Winter 2016

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Professor
1107 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3282
divenp@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: international relations, U.S. foreign policy, American politics


John Constantelos

John Constantelos

On Sabbatical Winter 2016
Ph.D., Duke University
Professor
1125 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2869

constanj@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: comparative politics, Western Europe, international political economy


Paul Cornish

Paul Cornish

Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
Associate Professor
1129 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3502
cornishp@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: political theory, American politics


Gamal Gasim

Gamal Gasim

Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Assistant Professor
111 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8106
gasimg@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: comparative politics, Middle Eastern Politics


Richard Hiskes

Richard Hiskes

Ph.D., Indiana University
Professor
1130 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2991
hiskesr@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: human rights, political theory


Whitt Kilburn

Whitt Kilburn

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Associate Professor
1103 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8831
kilburnw@gvsu.edu
website
profile
Fields: American politics, public opinion, elections and voting behavior


Erika King

Erika King

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Professor
1131 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2295
kinge@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: American politics, media and politics, public opinion


Jacques Mangala

Jack Mangala

Ph.D., Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium
Associate Professor
113 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8512
mangalaj@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: international relations, international law


Michelle Miller-Adams

Michelle Miller-Adams

Ph.D., Columbia University
Associate Professor
1105 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2864
millmich@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: international relations, international and domestic development


Andrew Schlewitz

Andrew Schlewitz

Ph.D., The New School
Assistant Professor
112 Lake Ontario Hall
(616) 331-8158
schlewia@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: Latin American politics, comparative politics, international relations


Laura Schneider

Laura Schneider

Ph.D., Purdue University
Associate Professor
1124 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8988
schneila@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: public policy, environmental policy, women and politics


Heather Tafel

Heather Tafel

Interim Director, International Relations Program (Winter 2016)
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Associate Professor
1128 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8511
tafelh@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: democratization, federalism, Russia and Eastern Europe


Darren Walhof

Darren Walhof

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Professor
1126 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-2835
walhofd@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: political thought, religion and politics, constitutional law


Thomas Walker

Thomas Walker

Ph.D., Rutgers University
Associate Professor
1102 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8713
walkerth@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: international relations, history of international political thought, causes of war


Yi Zhao

Yi Zhao

Ph.D., Yale University
Associate Professor
1108 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8523
zhaoy@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: comparative politics, Chinese politics, judicial politics


Donald Zinman

Donald Zinman

Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin
Associate Professor
1127 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-8714
zinmand@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: American politics, presidency, parties, elections


Affiliate Faculty

Rodger Moiles

Roger Moiles

M.A., Michigan State University
1104 Au Sable Hall
(616) 331-3283
moilesr@gvsu.edu
profile
Fields: American politics, research methods, international relations