Search committee set for new vice president for Student Affairs division

Students walking near the Transformational Link on the Allendale Campus.
Image Credit: Valerie Hendrickson

Twelve members of the Grand Valley State University community have been appointed to the search committee to fill the newly created vice president for Student Affairs position. 

President Philomena V. Mantella announced the creation of the new position and division in a July 14, 2021, email to all faculty and staff, stating it is a best practice for an institution of GVSU’s size and complexity to meet the diverse needs of students. 

“The new position is an exciting one that will give students more opportunities to share their successes and voice their concerns to upper administration more easily,” said Autumn Mueller, president of Student Senate. 

Karyn Rabourn, associate professor of Education Leadership and co-chair of the search committee, said amplifying the role of the chief student affairs officer is critical to the university’s future. 

“Student experiences outside of the classroom are critically important to the success and development of undergraduate and graduate students,” Rabourn said. “Much of the work happens in partnership with student affairs areas across campus. This reorganization increases the opportunities for the division to highlight its impact and to successfully advocate for resources and opportunities that will strengthen its essential work.”

Portraits of Karyn Rabourn and Kate Harmon
Karyn Rabourn, left, and Kate Harmon are co-chairs for the search committee.
Image Credit: Valerie Hendrickson

Members of the search committee are:

Kate Harmon, Co-Chair – acting associate dean of Students, director of Recreation & Wellness

Karyn Rabourn, Co-Chair – director of the M.Ed. in Higher Education Program; associate professor of Educational Leadership and Counseling; member, Executive Committee of the Academic Senate

Greg Sanial, executive officer liaison, vice president for Finance and Administration

Annie Belanger, inclusion advocate, dean of University Libraries

Suzeanne Benet, associate vice president for Academic Affairs

Oindrila Mukherjee, associate professor of Writing, University Academic Senate representative

Michelle Luciano, undergraduate student, Student Affairs Advisory Board representative, Laker Familia, TRIO participant

Emma Suchecki, undergraduate student; executive vice president, Student Senate

Tom Worm, graduate student, president of Graduate Student Association

Kyle Boone, Housing and Residence Life director

Emil Delgado, associate vice president for Information Technology

Marla Wick, AP Committee chair; associate director, Milton E. Ford LGBT Resource Center

The committee will be supported by Storbeck Search. There will be opportunities for key stakeholders and the university community to meet the finalists.