Convocation ceremony will recognize faculty members for service, teaching, research

faculty in regalia on stage during convocation ceremony
Robert Smart, vice provost for research administration and executive director, Center for Scholarly and Creative Excellence, addresses faculty members at the 2019 Faculty Awards Convocation. This year's event is February 11 at the DeVos Center.
Image Credit: University Communications

Faculty members will be honored for their research, teaching and scholarship, and service years during the annual Faculty Awards Convocation set for Tuesday, February 11, 4 p.m. at the DeVos Center, Loosemore Auditorium.

Feryal Alayont, professor of mathematics, will give a convocation address, “Advising is Teaching … and More,” and receive the Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award. Six other faculty members will also receive University Awards for Excellence:

• Robert Adams, professor of computing and information systems, Glenn A. Niemeyer Award

• Craig Benjamin, professor of history, Meijer Honors College, Distinguished Contribution in a Discipline Award

• Anne Caillaud, associate professor of Modern Languages and Literatures, Internationalization Award

• Brian Johnson, professor of criminal justice, Outstanding University Service Award

• Richard Rediske, professor of water resources, Outstanding Community Service Award

• Susan Strouse, associate professor of nursing, University Outstanding Teacher Award

The Center for Scholarly and Creative Excellence will present the following people with awards:

• Jonathan Hodge, professor of mathematics, Distinguished Undergraduate Mentoring Award

• Robert Hollister, professor of biology, Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award

• Carrie Buist, Caitlin Callahan, Christopher Dondzila and Huafang Li, Distinguished Early-career Scholar Awards          

The Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center will present the following people with awards:

• Ana Posada, affiliate faculty of computing and information systems, Burch, Jacobs & Moore Diversity Teaching Excellence Award

• Elizabeth West, senior adjunct instructor of chemistry, Pew Teaching Excellence Award for Part-time Faculty

• Carla Floyd-Slabaugh, assistant professor of occupational science and therapy, Pew Teaching with Technology Award

• Denise Goerisch, assistant professor of integrative studies, Pew Teaching with Technology Award 

• Nicholas Baine, Christopher Harper, David Leonard, Figen Mekik, Karen Pezzetti, Robin Spring and Glenn Valdez, Pew Teaching Excellence Awards

Faculty members with 25-45 years of service to Grand Valley will be recognized.