AWRI Information Services Center

Bear Creek Stewardship Plan - Watershed Project Participants

Public and Private Involvement

From its inception, a wide range of organizations and individuals representing a variety of public and private interests have played important roles in the Bear Creek Watershed Project. They have demonstrated their interest by active involvement in the planning phase and have indicated support for the activities of the implementation phase as well. These individuals and organizations include the following:


U.S.D.A. Soil Conservation Service
Steve Utic, District Conservationist
Lowen Mills, Soil Conservation Technician
3260 Eagle Park Drive Suite 101-B
Grand Rapids, MI 49505

U.S.D.A. - Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service
David Bain, Executive Director
3260 Eagle Park Dr. Suite 101-A
Grand Rapids, MI 49505


Michigan Department of Natural Resources District - #9
Janice Tompkins, Surface Water Quality Division Water Quality Analyst
350 Ottawa NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Tom Nederveld, Wildlife Biologist
3260 Eagle Park Dr. Suite 101-C
Grand Rapids, MI 49505
Michigan Department of Natural Resources - State Level
Thad Cleary, Surface Water Quality Division
P.O. Box 30028
Lansing, MI 48224

Michigan State University Cooperative Extension Service
Dr. William Harrison, County Executive Director
836 Fuller NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503


Kent County Board of Commissioners
Katherine Kuhn, Chair
300 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Kent County Drain Commission
Roger Laninga, Commissioner
1500 Scribner
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

Kent County Health Department
Douglas A. Mack, M.D., P.P.H., Director of Public Health
George Pio, Director of Environmental Health
Dave Kraker, Supervising Sanitarian
Randy Rapp, Sanitarian

Ken Terpstra, Director of Laboratory Services
700 Fuller NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Board of County Road Commissioners and Park Trustees of the County of Kent
Tom Byle, Director of Maintenance
Steve Warren, Director of Planning for Parks and Transportation
Roger Sabine, Kent County Landscape Architect
James Porritt, Managing Director
David Groenleer, Director of Engineering

Wayne Harrell, Assistant Director of Engineering and Bridge Engineer
1500 Scribner NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504


Cannon Township Board of Trustees
John Weiss, Supervisor
Dan Barker, Treasurer
Bonnie Shupe, Clerk
George Scott, Trustee
James Alles, Trustee
Dick Davies, Trustee
Thom Longcore, Trustee
Cannon Township Center
6878 Belding Road
Rockford, MI 49341

Cannon Township Planning Commission
Chuck Bloom, Chair
Robert Mack
Joel Gordon
James Lilley
Glenn Carwell
Erik Olsen
Robert McBrien
James LaPeer
James Alles

Cannon Township Center
6878 Belding Rd.
Rockford, MI 49341

Grattan Township
Richard Herwyr, Supervisor
11676 Old Belding Rd.
Belding, MI 48809

Grattan Natural Resource Research Group
Clifford H. Bloom, Vice-Chair
11676 Old Belding Road
Belding, MI 48809

Ada Township
George Haga, Supervisor
7330 Thornapple River Dr.
Ada, MI 49301

Vergennes Township
James B. Cook, Supervisor
10381 Bailey
Lowell, MI

Plainfield Township
Beverly Rekeny, Supervisor
6161 Belmont
Belmont, MI 49306


Grand Valley State University Water Resources Institute
Ron Ward, Ph.D., Director and Professor
John Koches, Research Associate
Mark Luttenton, Ph.D., Research Associate and Professor
Ra David, Research Associate
Kurt Thompson, Research Assistant
Stacey Skalka, Research Assistant
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401

Planning and Zoning Center, Inc.
Mark A. Eidelson, AICP, Senior Planner
Mark A. Wyckoff, AICP
Timothy J. McCauley
Brenda M. Moore, AICP, PCP
302 S. Waverly Rd.
Lansing, MI 48917

West Michigan Environmental Action Council (WMEAC)
Elaine Pelc, Water Quality Program Director
Julie Stoneman, Public Lands Program Director
1400 Wealthy SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506

Natural Areas Conservancy Of West Michigan (NACOMI)
Randall VanDragt, Ph.D., Calvin College Biology Department
Peter Gustafson, Attorney
April Scholtz, Director
1400 Wealthy SE Garden Level
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
Trout Unlimited
Glen Blackwood, Board of Directors
Kent Intermediate School District
Howard Christiansen Nature Center
Pricilla Johnson, Naturalist


Preserving the Atmosphere of Cannon's Environment (PACE)
Bonnie Shupe, President
Tony Zaidel, Treasurer Citizen's Advisory Committee for Environmental Affairs (CACEA)
Robert Schirado, Chair
Bear Creek Citizen's Committee
Shelley Yeager, Chair
Robert Winslow, Co-chair
Bear Creek Watershed Project Steering Committee
Holly VanScoy, Ph.D., Chair
Patricia VanDyke, Project Manager
Janice Tompkins, MDNR, Water Quality Analyst
Steven Utic, SCS, District Conservationist
Tom Nederveld, MDNR, District Wildlife Biologist
Donald Osborne, Watershed resident
Gerald Kitson, Watershed resident
Elaine Pelc, WMEAC, Water Quality Program Director
Wayne Harrell, Kent County Road and Parks Commission Assistant Director of Engineering
Peter DeRitter, Photographer and community volunteer
Glenn Blackwood, Trout Unlimited
Ronald Poitras, Grand Valley State University, Associate Professor of Public Administration
John Koches, Grand Valley State University, Water Resources Institute
Laura Ralwerda, Groundwater Education in Michigan (GEM)
John Wheeler, Rockford Construction Co.
Jon Peot, Forest Hills Public Schools, Secondary Science
David Rosander, Grand Rapids Public Schools, Secondary Science
Roger Laninga, Kent County Drain Commissioner
George Haga, Ada Township Supervisor
Charles Palazzolo
Grattan Township Treasurer Rockford Public Schools
Dan Davis, Lakes School, Principal
Jim Wolnan, Lakes School, Teacher
Sharon Bennett, Cannonsburg School, Principal
Jan Mackie, Cannonsburg School, Teacher
Nancy Berg, Cannonsburg School, Teacher

Page last modified January 19, 2011