Faculty Governance

Academic Policies and Standards Committee (APSC)

The responsibilities of the Academic Policies and Standards Committee (APSC) include studying, reviewing, and making pertinent recommendations on academic policies and procedures.  Its duties include composing policies relevant to admission, retention and dismissal, repeat grades, withdrawal, the academic calendar, and library privileges.

2016-17 Academic Policies & Standards Committee Members

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  George McBane (CHM) (2017) CHAIR
  Robert Swieringa (COM) (2018)
   Huei Lan Yen (MLL) (2018)
   Yi Zhao (PLS) (2017)

Seidman College of Business
    Lori Koste (2017)

College of Community and Public Service
    Naoki Kanaboshi (CJ) (2017)

College of Education
    Nagnon Diarrassouba (2018)

Padnos College of Engineering and Computing
    Jamal Alsabbagh (CIS) (2018)

College of Health Professions
   Chad Sutliffe (AHS) (2018)

Kirkhof College of Nursing
    Cynthia Beel-Bates (2017)

University Libraries
    Cara Cadena (2018)

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies
   Brent Smith (2017)

Provost or designee (ex officio)
    Suzeanne Benet, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs

Student Senate Representative
    Vacant until Fall 2016 election

* Composition: The APSC consists of four faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and one from each of the remaining colleges, one from the University Libraries, 1 student selected by and from the Student Senate, 1 faculty member elected by and from the University Academic Senate, and the Provost or designee (ex officio, non-voting). 

Term is two years, staggered.

The committee meets 9-11 am on the second Thursday of each month of the academic year.


Page last modified November 17, 2016