Skip to main content

Poetry Night 2016

Oliver de la Paz and Tracy K. Smith profile photos


An Evening of Poetry and Conversation with Oliver de la Paz and Tracy K. Smith

Oliver de la Paz is the author of four collections of poetry: Names Above Houses (SIU Press 2001); Furious Lullaby (SIU Press 2007); Requiem for the Orchard (University of Akron Press 2010), winner of the Akron Poetry Prize; and Post Subject: A Fable (University of Akron Press 2014). He co-chairs the advisory board of Kundiman, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion of Asian American poetry and serves on the Association of Writers and Writing Programs Board. He is the music editor for At Length magazine and he teaches in the M.F.A. program at Western Washington University.

Tracy K. Smith is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Ordinary Light (Knopf, 2015) and three books of poetry. Her collection Life on Marston the 2012 Pulitzer Prize and was selected as a New York Times Notable Book. Dundee won the 2006 James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets and an Essence Literary Award. The Body's Question was the winner of the 2002 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. Smith was the recipient of a Rona Jaffe Writers Award in 2004 and a Whiting Award in 2005. In 2014 the Academy of American Poets awarded Smith with the Academy Fellowship, awarded to one poet each year to recognize distinguished poetic achievement. She is the Roger S. Berlind 52 Professor in the Humanities, and Director of the Creative Writing Program at Princeton University.

Thursday, October 13, 2016 7 p.m.
2nd floor, L.V. Eberhard Center
Robert C. Pew Grand Rapids Campus


Be sure to check out Past Poetry Night Events and a sample of Poetry Night Poems