Winter Break Information

Fall semester Final Exams end on Friday, December 18 and Winter semester classes begin on Monday, January 11. On campus housing buildings close at 10pm on Friday, December 18 and re-open at 8am on Saturday, January 9. All University offices are closed Thursday, December 24 through Sunday, January 3.

Before you leave and enjoy your winter break, for health, safety, and security, please do the following: 

  • Throw away all of your perishable food items
  • Remove and properly dispose of trash and recycling items from unit
  • Shut and lock windows
  • Close blinds
  • Turn off all lights and unplug any appliances 
  • Set thermostat to 55 degrees (if applicable)
  • Lock door

Extended Stay & Break Stay Sign-Up

Living in Housing for winter semester, but will be in your unit at some point over the break?

If you are a continuing student and will be in your unit any time between 10pm Friday, December 18 and 8am Saturday, January 9, a SEMESTER BREAK STAY REQUEST is required. Semester break stay requests must be submitted by Friday, December 11.

NOT returning for winter semester, but need to stay in your unit past 10pm Friday, December 18?

If you are NOT a continuing student and will be in your unit any time after 10pm Friday, December 18, submission of a EXTENDED STAY FORM is required. Extended Stay Forms must be submitted by Friday, December 5 to your front desk (pick this form up from your Living Center Director). You are NOT guaranteed permission to stay- the department of Housing and Residence Life reserves the right to grant or deny any Extended Stay request.

Note: If you are NOT returning to on-campus Housing for the winter semester, please review the cancel process, complete a Contract Release Form, submit the Contract Release Form to your Living Center Director by December 5, and review proper checkout information

Duty & On-Call

  • If you need support after hours, call Assistant Living Center Director (ALCD) duty phone number or 911 if it is an emergency. CALL DESK DURING REGULAR HOURS (SEE BELOW).
  • ALCD phone number for DeVos, Frey, Hills, Kirkpatrick, Laker Village, North C, Pew Pickard, Ravines, Siedman, South C/D/E, & Stafford: 616-889-0254

  • ALCD phone number for Calder, Copeland, GVA, Hoobler, Johnson, Kistler, Murray, Niemeyer, North A, North B, Ott, Robinson, Secchia, VanSteeland, Weed, West A, West B, & Winter: 616-889-0280

Desk Hours

Fri, Dec. 18: All desks open until 10pm


Sat, Dec. 19:

Laker Village:


Niemeyer, North C, Ravines, South E, Winter:



Sun, Dec 20: All desks open 12pm-5pm


Niemeyer, Laker Village, North C, Ravines:

Mon, Dec. 21 – Tue, Jan. 5: CLOSED

Laker Village and Ravines Community Centers will be open for laundry only 10am-6pm daily except Dec. 25 and Jan. 1.


South E & Winter:

Mon, Dec. 21 – Thurs, Dec. 24: 10am-5pm

Fri, Dec. 25: CLOSED

Sat, Dec. 26: 10am-5pm

Sun, Dec. 27: 12pm-5pm

Mon, Dec. 28 - Thurs, Dec. 31: 10am-5pm

Fri, Jan. 1: CLOSED

Sat, Jan. 2: 10am-5pm

Sun, Jan. 3: 12pm-5pm

Mon, Jan. 4 – Tue, Jan. 5: 10am-5pm


All Desks:

Wed, Jan. 6 – Fri, Jan. 8: 10am-5pm

Sat, Jan. 9 – Sun, Jan. 10: 8am-10pm

Regular hours resume Monday, January 11