University Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is a regional accreditation agency that accredits degree granting institutions of higher education that are based in a 19-state region of the United States. Institutions that the Commission accredits are evaluated against the Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation, a set of standards that institutions must meet to receive and/or maintain accredited status. 

By having and maintaining accreditation status, GVSU is displaying a strong commitment to sustaining a high level of accountability and accuracy to students and the community. Institutional accreditation recognizes the overall quality of the organization; it covers all programs, sites, and methods of delivery. 

The HLC requires participating institutions, such as GVSU, to adopt and demonstrate the following values for their campus communities.

1. Focus on student learning

2. Education as a public purpose

3. Education for a diverse, technological, globally connected world

4. A culture of continuous improvement

5. Evidence-based institutional learning and self-presentation

6. Integrity, transparency, and ethical behavior or practice

7. Governance for the well-being of the institution

8. Planning and management of resources to ensure institutional sustainability

9. Mission-centered evaluation

10. Accreditation through peer review 

You can find more information about HLC at

Page last modified July 23, 2018