Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance Faculty/Staff


Department Chair
Danny Phipps
 (phippsda@gvsu.edu)

Associate Department Chair, Associate Professor of Trombone
Mark Williams (willima1@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Curriculum and Music Education Studies, Associate Professor of Music Education
Beth Gibbs (gibbsb@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Accreditation and Assessment, Associate Professor of Saxophone
Dan Graser (graserd@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Development, Professor of Clarinet
Arthur Campbell (campbela@gvsu.edu)

Office Coordinator
Kristi Fosdick (fosdickk@gvsu.edu)

Department Secretary
Charlyn Worthem (worthemc@gvsu.edu)

Department Secretary/Receptionist
Colleen Bazuin (bazuinc@gvsu.edu)

Publicity and Recruitment Coordinator 
Bridgett Vanderhoof (vandebri@gvsu.edu)

Equipment & Performance Space Supervisor
Chris Mahlmann (mahlmanc@gvsu.edu)

Equipment & Performance Space Technician
Nathaniel Bliton
 (blitonn@gvsu.edu)

Costume Supervisor 
Jill Hamilton  (hamiltoj@gvsu.edu)

Costume Technician
Cat O'Callahan (ocallahc@gvsu.edu)

BRASS
Mark Williams (willima1@gvsu.edu), Trombone, Assistant Chair & Associate Professor
Paul Carlson (carlsopa@gvsu.edu), Tuba, Assistant Professor
Alex Wilson (wilsoal1@gvsu.edu), Trumpet, Assistant Professor
Richard Britsch (britschr@gvsu.edu), Horn, Affiliate Professor

GUITAR
Kyle Thompson Part-time Professor

KEYBOARD
Helen Marlais (marlaish@gvsu.edu), Piano, Piano pedagogy, Associate Professor
Sookkyung Cho (choso@gvsu.edu), Piano, Assistant Professor
Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Harpsichord and Organ, Affiliate Professor

PERCUSSION
Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Greg Secor (secorg@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

STRINGS
Pablo Mahave-Veglia
 ( mahavep@gvsu.edu), Cello, Associate Professor
Paul Swantek ( swantekp@gvsu.edu), Viola, Affiliate Professor
Megan Crawford
 ( crawfom1@gvsu.edu), Violin, Visiting Professor
Michael Hovnanian ( hovnanim@gvsu.edu), Bass, Part-time Professor

VOICE
Dale Schriemer ( schriemd@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of Opera Theatre
Kathryn Stieler ( stielerk@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Robert Byrens ( byrensr@gvsu.edu), Vocal Coach/Accompanist, Affiliate Professor
Brendan Hollins  (hollinsb@gvsu.edu) Opera Theatre, Part-time Professor
Rachael Gates  ( berganr@gvsu.edu ) Music/Vocal Adjunct Professor

WOODWINDS
Arthur Campbell (campbela@gvsu.edu)Clarinet, Professor
Marlen Vavrikova (vavrikom@gvsu.edu)Oboe, Associate Professor
Christopher Kantner (kantnerc@gvsu.edu), Flute, Affiliate Professor
Dan Graser ( graserd@gvsu.edu), Saxophone, Assistant Professor
Victoria Olson (olsonvic@gvsu.edu) Bassoon, Part-time Professor
Gary June (junega@gvsu.edu) Clarinet, Part-time Professor

INSTRUMENTAL ENSEMBLE CONDUCTERS
Kevin Tutt (tuttk@gvsu.edu), Professor, Associate Dean for Curriculum, Pedagogy, and Academic Opportunities for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Conductor of Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Henry Duitman ( duitmanh@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Conductor of Symphony Orchestra
Pablo Mahave-Veglia ( mahavep@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Early Music Ensemble
Bill Ryan ( ryanwi@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of New Music Ensemble
John T. Martin ( marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Concert Band & University Band
Tim Froncek  ( froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor, Director of Jazz Ensembles

CHORAL ENSEMBLE CONDUCTORS
Brad Olesen (olesenb@gvsu.edu), Conductor of University Arts Chorale and Cantate Chamber Ensemble, Affiliate Professor of Voice
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Director of Varsity Men, Professor
Shirley Lemon (lemons@gvsu.edu), Conductor of University Singers and Select Women's Ensemble

LAKER MARCHING BAND
John T. Martin  (marjohnt@gvsu.edu),  Associate   Professor, Director of Athletic Bands
Ted Craig (craigte@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Rebecca Sikkema (hetjonre@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor-Color Guard
Kyle Morse  ( morseky1@g vsu.edu ),  Part-time Professor

COMPOSITION
Bill Ryan  (ryanwi@gvsu.edu), Professor

JAZZ
Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu) Affiliate Professor
Michael T. Drost (drostm@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor

MUSIC EDUCATION
Barry Martin (martinb@gvsu.edu), Professor
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor
Kevin Tutt  (tuttk@gvsu.edu), Professor
Beth Gibbs  (gibbsb@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor & Coordinator of Student Services
John Martin  (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Patty Gordon (gordonpa@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

MUSIC GENERAL EDUCATION
Gregory Crowell  (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Paul Swantek  (swantekp@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Andrew Bergeron  (bergeroa@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Jack DeBoer  (debojack@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Samuel Gould  (goulds1@gvsu.eduPart-time Professor
Kimberly Veenstra ( veenstki@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

MUSICOLOGY AND MUSIC THEORY
Lisa Feurzeig (feurzeil@gvsu.edu), Professor
Charles Norris  (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor
Gregory Crowell  (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Anna Fulton (fultonan@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor

James Bell (bellja@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor of Theatre
Roger Ellis (ellisr@gvsu.edu), Professor of Theatre
Michael Empson, Part-time Faculty
Jason Flannery (flanneja@gvsu.edu), Part-time Faculty
Jill Hamilton (hamiltoj@gvsu.edu), Costume Supervisor
Scott Harman (harmansc@gvsu.edu), Part-time Faculty
Karen Libman (libmank@gvsu.edu), Professor of Theatre
Allison Manville Metz (metza@gvsu.edu), Coordinator for Theatre Curriculum, Associate Professor of Theatre
Alfred Sheffield (sheffiea@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor of Theatre

Carrie Brueck Morris  (morrcarr@gvsu.edu) Associate Professor
Hannah Seidel (seidelh@gvsu.edu) Assistant Professor
Samantha Shelton (sheltons@gvsu.edu) Affiliate Professor
Shelby Chambers  (chambshe@gvsu.edu Part-time Professor
Gina McFadden (mcfaddeg@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
Rachel Miller (millerr5@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
Stephen Sanford (sanfords@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
Cat O'Callaghan (ocallahc@gvsu.edu), Part-time Costume Designer
Alex Hamel (hamelal@gvsu.edu), Dance Musician
Ryan Blok, (blokryan@gvsu.edu) Dance Musician